26.542.Leader of the Trio

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 542
“Leader of the Trio”

“Boys, I have called you out here after classes today not to deliver a speech of confidence, but instead to confront a matter I’ve been wondering about for a while now.
“Do we spend time together because I get to be with San-Kyung, and you get to be with San-Kyung, and because you get to be with both of us, or do we have a specific purpose?”
Both San-Kyung and Dosa-Mina gave La-Iin no immediate response.
After school that day she had summoned both boys and walked a short distance from Malicerie, and almost instantly went into the topic she had just brought up.
La-Iin herself had summoned the two boys with different intentions–she had wanted to spend time with San-Kyung to take her mind off the current situation between Mit-Sun and Uil-Cur. When Dosa-Mina had tagged along, La-Iin searched for a different topic, not wanting to involve Dosa-Mina in something she meant to be private between her and San-Kyung.
“I thought we just spent time together because we’re friends with San-Kyung and because we both wanted to help him find his true form.”
La-Iin noticed San-Kyung flinch. “Yes, well, that’s good and all, but the trio of us together is not one where everyone likes each other.”
Dosa-Mina rolled his eyes. “I’m well aware of that.”
“What’s the point of this again? If there’s something specific you want to do, then just say something instead of beating around the bush.”
“What I wanted to do was foiled by rival-boy,” La-Iin growled under her breath. Dosa-Mina gave her a curious glance. “But anyway, this all came up from a lot of thoughts I’ve had lately. If not all of us like each other, then when we spend time together it’s just me and Dosa-Mina endlessly fighting for a chance to spend time with you. I’m sure that pisses you off.”
“I’m surprised you said something smart for once.”
“I might seem stupid to you but that’s just because of your intellect. I’m actually very smart for a seven-year-old half-Vampire.”
“I suppose she’s got you there,” Dosa-Mina said.
“Anyway, I think that’s a bad way to operate. It’s one thing if you and me are alone together, or if me and rival-boy are alone together, or if….ugh…you and rival-boy are alone together, but if we’re all together doing nothing, then it’s just going to be me and rival-boy fighting or monopolizing your attention while the other fumes silently.”
San-Kyung narrowed his eyes. “So I propose we make a purpose for ourselves when it is the three of us. The pursuit of San-Kyung’s true form is a noble goal, but I think it needs to be put on hold for now.”
You think, but I plan on continuing to help him. I have to.”
“Stop acting like it’s your destiny to help him,” La-Iin snapped. “And I want to help him too. But if we don’t have a purpose as a trio, all that will happen is what I said was gonna happen!”
“What makes you think that will?” San-Kyung asked.
“Because I know myself. And I know how much I hate rival-boy.”
“Well, if you want our trio to have a purpose so badly, then how about this: we’re together to help each other.”
San-Kyung grimaced. “That would probably mostly entail helping you, San-Kyung, seeing as you’re the only one who’s consistently liked in this group. Anyhoo, it could work. We’d put our efforts together for the goal of helping each other with our goal. For me that wouldn’t be so hard. I already know lots about Animated Pumpkins, I’m just mostly curious about some of your strange powers. Not all the Vampire powers are well-documented, especially not that one that makes you transform into a Pureblood rather than a bat.”
La-Iin smiled.
“Meanwhile, we could help San-Kyung find his true form and help him with things like his other goals and his…car, and I suppose we could help you do whatever it is you want to do that won’t get us killed or result in San-Kyung being considered a pedophile.”
“What kind of things do you think I’d ask help for!?”
“I might not be completely sure, but I’ve known you for a year and so. I have a pretty good idea of the things you’re into because you’re not exactly subtle about them.”
“I could say the same about you,” San-Kyung said.
“I’m proudly not subtle about my interests! And are you defending her against me!?”
“This only proves I’m more on the right path than you are, rival-boy,” La-Iin said. “But a group dedicated to fulfilling our individual interests does sound as if it could work out. I have my curiosities about my powers as well, and much as I hate to admit it you do know a lot about species study.”
“Why thank you!”
“I’m always happy to help San-Kyung, and of course I’d love to see my own interests fulfilled as well. I already have an idea, in fact, heh heh heh…”
“Now look what you’ve done,” San-Kyung sighed. “And I notice neither of you asked for my input on this trio of ours…”
“Well, what do you think, San-Kyung?”
“I think the idea of helping La-Iin with something she wants makes me sick. But I’ll give it a shot since I’m outnumbered.”
“You’re being awfully placating lately, San-Kyung. Show me more of your fire!”
San-Kyung struck his hand.
“I don’t think she meant it like that.”
“I know she didn’t.” He put out the fire. “I’m accepting of my own volition. If I didn’t agree with this idea I wouldn’t go along with it. I’m reluctant to help you because I know how you can be.”
“Well, you shouldn’t be. Not all my requests are going to inconvenience you. Besides, I’d prefer certain requests be done outside the prying eye of a certain Weresiren…”
“Don’t call me that in public.”
“And I think I’d prefer not to be around you when you act like that. Or alone with you at all.”
“But now that that’s settled, I have another problem. When in groups like these, it’s usually good to have a leader to decide most of our actions. You could say it should be San-Kyung, since he’s the one we both like. Or it could be rival-boy, because he suggested the idea of us all helping out. By that process of elimination, I think I should be the leader.”
“That doesn’t make any sense,” San-Kyung said.
“Yeah, you just said we have more viable reasons to be the leader.”
“Exactly! I’m the only one who hasn’t contributed much yet. So I’m going to be the leader. We’ll do well under my guidance.”
“I’m not going along with that.”
La-Iin’s wings began to flap rapidly. “I bet if I said rival-boy should be the leader you would!”
“Even if you did I wouldn’t agree with that. I’d rather not be bossed around by someone. If the point of this stupid organization is to help each other with our goals then why does there need to be a leader? If there’s going to be a leader, I’m out of it. You and Dosa-Mina can enjoy your little duo from then on.”
“If you leave there won’t be any sort of organization. La-Iin can barely stand to be two seconds alone with me unless it has to do with you in some way.”
“He has a point, San-Kyung.” La-Iin sighed. “Fine, if it keeps you around then there will be no leader. Now that’s what I like to see from you, San-Kyung. We could use more of your suggestions!”
“I’m already not a big fan of this idea.”
“I know, but it’ll work out. Probably. At least you won’t have to worry about me and rival-boy arguing all the time.”
“I don’t believe for one second that you’ll stop arguing with Dosa-Mina. You take any chance you can get.”
La-IIn remained silent on that subject. “Should we give this trio a name?”
“Why are you putting so much thought into this, La-Iin? You know, we could just leave it at being a trio who works together to help each other achieve our own ends.”
“You wouldn’t understand, rival-boy.”
“Aw, come on, La-Iin, you’re so simple I doubt I couldn’t understand.”
La-Iin glared at him. “Er, well, of course, not like I’d want to.”
“You know, you and San-Kyung took a chance to be upset about his true form and whatever you’re upset about. I have my own problems that I don’t know if they’re going to end up going well or not, and I don’t want to act upset. My future is on the line. I’m the one who makes or breaks how this all goes.”
“Huh?”
“I just needed a distraction,” she said simply. “We don’t have to do this stupid trio. I don’t want to be in any sort of alliance with you anyway.”
“So you’re just going to turn your back on a chance to do something with me. That’s surprising.”
“Don’t put it like that, San-Kyung. I’m not turning my back on that chance. If you two still want to do the trio, that’s fine. But I’m saying we don’t have to.”
“I think it sounds fine,” Dosa-Mina said.
“I don’t care.”
La-Iin huffed. “Well, we’ll see what happens. But if this trio does happen, I propose we call ourselves “Dark Queen, Husband and Servant”. I’m going home now. See you soon.”
La-Iin walked off. Once she was out of earshot, the two began to speak again.
“If this trio really does happen, we’re not calling ourselves that.”
“That’s for certain.”

—–
“I almost forgot about San-Kyung’s car, now that I think about it,” La-Iin mused to herself.
“San-Kyung’s….what, now?”
“If this trio really does happen that should be one of the first things we do. See his car again. I’d love to ride in it…”

Feel free to say what you will...

