21.537.Evil and Logic

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 537
“Evil and Logic”

“Someone seems pretty happy. Was the school trip better than you thought it would be?”
“It has nothing to do with the school trip. That was fine enough, but it has to do with what happened after the school trip. That was truly amazing!”
“What happened after it? All I know is that woman was really pissed with you when you got back and now you’re in trouble.”
“I don’t care that Mama’s pissed with me because I’m even more pissed with her. And anyway it doesn’t matter. I’m just happy because San-Kyung has been in such a bad mood lately I almost forgot how fun it could be to spend time with him!”
“I’m surprised you thought, for a moment, that spending time with San-Kyung wasn’t worth it. You’ve certainly thought a lot about spending time with him in the future, down to spending so much time with him you end up with FOUR children…and I’ve never asked, what would you do if, say, you ended up with two sets of triplets?”
“I would jump that hurdle if it happened,” La-Iin said confidently. “But anyway, Bes-Isa, do you want to know about what happened or not?”
“Sure, why not? It isn’t as if I have anything better to do anyway. Even if I DID, you being grounded puts several dents into that hypothetical plan.”
“Well, then, I’ll tell you all about it. As you know we were on a school trip and we came back in the afternoon. And…”

***

As soon as the bus stopped in front of Malicerie Public School, the teachers set to work on waking all the students who had fallen asleep on the way back. It was a difficult task, for not every student took so kindly to being woken up. When Mr. Chensu tapped San-Kyung awake, he was shoved away in response.
La-Iin was woken by the sound of Fer-Shi being woken, and she got out her seat immediately. The students started to crowd out of the bus and made it nearly impossible for La-Iin to get out. Once the path was more clear, she hopped out the bus and nearly landed on her face.
“That was idiotic,” San-Kyung said.
“I can fly, you know. If I was really going to hurt myself, I would have just flown.”
“You could’ve, but I know you, La-Iin. You’re not exactly known for having the best laid plans.”
La-Iin’s wings flapped rapidly. “At least I plan out how to rule the world! You never do!”
La-Iin’s shriek caught the attention of nearby students, who looked on curiously all except for Fer-Shi and Dosa-Mina, who seemed slightly embarrassed by her outburst.
“What are you two talking about?” Questioned Mr. Chensu.
“None of your business!” Snapped San-Kyung. La-Iin smirked. “Ooh, look who’s getting in trouble now.”
San-Kyung turned around, dropped to his knees and whispered in La-Iin’s ear, “I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but your ideas don’t tend to be on the logical side. You could have fallen from the bus so fast you didn’t have time to start flying. I might not be able to fly but I’ve read up a lot on it.”
“Well, like you said, you aren’t able to fly, so you don’t know that for sure. And my plans are just fine.”
“Says you.”
“Do you want to prove me wrong?”
San-Kyung seemed ready to say no. “Unless you don’t think you can.”
“Challenge accepted!”
“Pff. You’re so easy sometimes.”
Never call me easy. Our friendship doesn’t mean I don’t still find you annoying, La-Iin. Let’s get our stuff off the bus before we do this.”
La-Iin nodded. The two head over to Hyungdarou to retrieve what they had brought on the trip.
“Arguing with La-Iin?”
“What did it look like?”
“Arguing. You know, maybe this fake friendship will end up falling apart on its own as opposed to you admitting it was fake.”
“Don’t say that so loudly!”
“I can’t believe you were arguing with San-Kyung.”
“Our relationship isn’t peachy-keen all the time, Fer-Shi. But that’s what makes it interesting. Besides, that argument gave way to something I’ve been wanting for a long time now, heh heh heh…”
Fer-Shi backed away. “…oookay. Well, I think I’m just gonna head home immediately after I get my stuff.”
“You do that. I, on the other hand, have a mission to complete!”

La-Iin and San-Kyung head off Malicerie school grounds and to the closest place they could find that was devoid of people. La-Iin noticed that San-Kyung checked behind himself several times.
“Why do you keep doing that?”
“I was checking to see if anyone’s following us. It does help to check behind yourself sometimes.”
“I have good hearing on my side, San-Kyung.”
San-Kyung huffed. “You know, for a little girl, you can be pretty arrogant.”
“You can be arrogant too! It’s a sign of our compatibility.”
“We’re not here so you can be disgusting. The second you say anything more about the two of us together we’re quitting this little experiment and I’m heading home.”
“My mouth is shut.”
San-Kyung came to a stop underneath a roofed clearing.
“You know, San-Kyung, if there’s anyone I trust with my plans for world domination, it’s you. After all, in the future, we’ll–err, never mind…”
“Hmph. Well, your plans don’t matter if they’re not going to work. What did you have in mind?”
“Well, I can’t tell you all the most intimate details just yet because they’re not completely planned out. But tell me how this sounds. For a little while I’ve been tossing around the idea of creating an army of V-Puppets to assist me in taking over the world!”
“…you want to take over the world with an army of dolls.”
“V-Puppets can be more than just dolls! I made a clay doll into a V-Puppet once. I wonder what happened to her?”
“Tell me, La-Iin, does this sound smart to you: a whole bunch of soft or easily breakable items flying at a group of people with powers on their side and potentially armed. Sure, you’d stay safe, you probably wouldn’t be hurt from the venture but what makes you think that’s a smart idea?”
“…”
“I thought so.”
“Good call, San-Kyung. But I have more ideas than that babyish one I came up with when I was a toddler.”
“A lot of your ideas sound like they lack an army that isn’t comprised of yourself and I’m guessing me as well.”
La-Iin looked away. “That’s where you’re wrong, San-Kyung. I have ideas for armies of people. I would trap the people first of Bledger, and then of all of Vaelyn in cages and when it came the time to take over more of the world, I would use them as my army! They’re expendable anyway, so it wouldn’t matter if they died. Everyone who needed to live would stay at home or next to me on the front lines.”
“An army of people who are probably weakened from disease and lack of food? And if too many of them die you don’t have an army anymore.”
La-Iin’s wings flapped rapidly. “Since when do you plan world domination that doesn’t involve the only perpetrator being you!?”
“My plans are a little different than yours, La-Iin. I’m not interested in discussing them right now, but it’s not the kind of world domination you’re looking for. In your case you might need an army. I strive for different things because I’d rather handle it all myself.”
“It’s the same here. I want to cause suffering by my own hands!”
“And you want me there too.”
La-Iin narrowed her eyes.
“People who rule entire portions of the world usually have some sort of army to handle most of the violent and bloody battles for them. You, on your own, would face a massive opposition.”
“That is again where you’re wrong. I have the most overpowered ability any species could ever have. If I drink the blood of another species, I can use their powers for a short amount of time. And I can increase that time by drinking even more blood! And it might even make the powers stronger! With enough blood I could probably handle them all on my own.”
“Where would you get enough blood to make it last long enough to take over the world, or at least a portion of it? What species’ powers would most benefit you for a given area? Would the powers be strong enough to handle the opposition? Would you take into account which species most populates the area you’re going to so you can expect which powers will be used against you? And can you fly high enough to avoid anything they might fire at you? Your plan could work, but it requires a lot of thought that judging by your expression, you didn’t put into it.”
“I put lots of thought into my plans,” La-Iin said, her tone emotionless. San-Kyung rolled his eyes. “Apparently that wasn’t one of them. Look, that sounds like it could work better than using an army of weaklings or V-Puppets, but you still need to put into account also where you would get the blood and you’d need to know how much you need in order to handle the situation. If you make one misstep, then it could cost you.”
“That is good advice. Luckily for you I was putting plenty of thought into it. I just haven’t been able to test it out so much. Maybe you’d be willing to loan me some blood–”
“No.”
“Damn it.”
“Your goal of world domination is large-scale, La-Iin. It does require a lot of thought. Have you ever considered that historical and modern-day dictators put a lot of thought into what they were doing?”
“No, I never considered that. And you know why? Because they failed badly. They stopped at one area of the world!”
“Not all of them did. Just the ones that didn’t often died, at least in the modern day.”
“You know, I have been looking for holes in my plans, San-Kyung. You act like I don’t think, but I’m thinking about these things almost each time I get free time.”
“Yeah, well it’s not my fault you didn’t realize they would fall apart before they started.”
“Even you have to admit the blood one is pretty good.”
“I wouldn’t know. I don’t have an unfair ability like that. Wish I did.”
La-Iin sighed. “I wish Vampires could transfer their Vampirism like the Normals of the olden days thought. Then I would do that for you.”
“What good would that do me?”
“Well…I’d have to put more thought into that.”
San-Kyung sighed.
“Alright, then, San-Kyung, one more thing. What do you think about the plan of keeping it contained to Vaelyn until another country shows a sign of weakness?”
“It could be a false flag. You might live a thousand years but it might not happen. There could be a mutiny within Vaelyn–ever consider that? Would you really have enough power suppressant to keep so many people sedated long enough to prevent them from fighting back?”
“I would suck their blood too!”
“That doesn’t mean it would work. And some of the stuff I’ve heard about power suppressants leads me to believe that wouldn’t do you any good. In fact, it’d be the reverse. And have you ever considered what would happen if multiple countries or hell, even one country invaded your Vaelyn? Populated by weaklings in cages with only one person at the fighting helm? You’d be overtaken. Especially since your plan doesn’t involve any weaponry whatsoever.”
“Does yours!?”
“That’s none of your business. Also, one other thing: you’d probably have to use power suppressants to keep the people of Bledger from rising against you, but what would you do if you needed them as an army or to suck their blood like I said before? That would only mess you up. It’s the biggest flaw I’ve found.”
La-Iin’s wings flapped rapidly. San-Kyung was both confusing her and frustrating her. “Well, nobody’s really gone over to North Vaelyn!” La-Iin gasped. “I know. I’ll use nuclear weaponry! Along with my powers it would mean that nobody could stop me! There has to be something! North Vaelyn is full of weaklings! Come on, San-Kyung! It’s worked before! What about Dasdoria?”
“You’re just scrambling now. But you have a point about Dasdoria. The issue is, who really knows what’s going on in their government? First go and find out if it’s run by only one person. Oh wait. There are powerful guards who keep people from escaping. They might not always succeed but I heard their success rate is pretty high. Besides, those are still only contained to one area…”
San-Kyung began to walk off. “You do have a point about it being hard, San-Kyung. But I have a long lifespan! I have been putting thought into it and studying evil history. And with your tips I think I’ll have an even better chance. But you told me how stupid all my plans are–how come you never told me yours? What makes you think your plans will work?”
“I told you, my plans are a little different than your ideal of total and complete rule over the world all by yourself. But I’m not interested in discussing them with you. I’m not going to have you stealing my ideas.”
La-Iin giggled. “You think I would steal your ideas.”
“I wouldn’t put it past you.”
“Even though you berated me a lot, this was fun, San-Kyung. But I’ll show you that my plans can work.”
“Not that V-Puppetry plan, though. Never that V-Puppetry plan.”
“I know that one was stupid.”
“Yeah, well, you do your worst. I plan on one-upping you, but I’m not going to be alive forever. If you keep messing up the world past my death then good on you. The world doesn’t deserve to be treated well.”
La-Iin blushed. “Ooh. Every time I wonder how I could be such an idiot to think about sharing part of the world with you you remind me why I like you.”
San-Kyung grimaced and took off at a high speed. “See you tomorrow, San-Kyung!”

—–
“It sounds like a lot of it was San-Kyung telling you you’re an idiot. And I kind of have to agree, your little world domination plan has a lot of holes.”
“Hearing it from you makes it sound bad. But I don’t care. He gave me a little inspiration and I like spending time with him. Mama yelling at me felt like nothing compared to that joy.”
“You’re sickening.”
“You can say whatever you want, but at least I’m not stupid.”
“So you say…”
“And I have matured. When I was five you heard how I talked about San-Kyung. Now I realize I went about it a little wrong. Though even I can’t resist a good chase every now and then.”
Bes-Isa sighed. “I guess that is one thing I’ll have to give you…you do seem more genuinely in love with him than you did when you were five.”
“I’m glad to hear you say so, Bes-Isa!”

Feel free to say what you will...

