17.472.Llanni and Sanyaow

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 472
“Llanni and Sanyaow”

The last class came to an end, and after a quick chat with Deki-Tyunri, Lirako began to pack her school supplies. In the midst of doing so, someone tapped her on the back.
“Yeek!”
“Ooh, yikes. Sorry, Sanyaow.”
“Llanni? What was that for? Did you need something?”
“I want to, like, talk to you? Away from the teenage boys.”
Lirako glanced at her classmates. Deki-Tyunri was looking away from Airy-Aekok, while Xhen-Bei and Tenha-Gumo shot looks that reflected their discomfort. San-Kyung glared at her before turning back to Dosa-Mina.
“Uh, yeah, sure. Just let me pack the rest of my school stuff.”
“Okay. We’ll talk in the Weekend Classroom, ‘kay? Oh, uh, er, not there actually. Outside work for you?”
“Yeah.”
‘Wonder what she wants to talk to me about?’ Lirako thought. ‘Maybe she wants to be friends.’
Lirako quickly packed the rest of her school supplies, then went ahead of the class and head outside to meet Airy-Aekok. By the time she made it, the crowd heading home consisted only of Class B and Class C students, though a few Class D students quickly made their way into the crowd.
“Llanni?” Lirako called. “Where are you, Llanni?”
“Over here,” she whispered, beckoning to Lirako from behind a tree. Lirako walked up to her.
“This is a weird place to have a conversation, you know. If anyone sees us or hears us, we’re gonna be the focus of a lot of attention.”
“Yeah, guess so, but can’t be any worse than what I’m gettin’ now, can it?”
“Yeah, guess so. You know, I heard a little bit about what you did. Some of those boys are friends of mine, and I’m not all that happy about what you did to them. Though I approve of you doing that to a specific two.”
“That’s not what I wanna talk about! …no, well, I guess it’s some of it. How’d you get to be so popular, Sanyaow?”
“Huh?”
“You’re, like, the most popular student in all of Class D. You’re even a little popular outside of class. How’d you do it? I bet all that popularity’s gotten a few boys gettin’ crushes on ya. So what am I doing wrong?”
“Um, tying up boys is probably the first thing you messed up,” Lirako said. “And if there are any boys who have a crush on me in Class D, I don’t know about them. As for my popularity, I think that’s just because I like to talk to people.”
“I do too! I even try and find out little things about them! I just don’t know what I’m doing wrong.”
“How many friends have you made in the past, Llanni?”
“I dunno. …actually, now that I think about it, was there anyone I coulda called a friend back in Elementary…?”
“See, your problem is I don’t think you understand how friendships work. You also don’t understand how flirting works, it looks like. I’m not sure how to explain it to you though, because it seems like you’ll just misunderstand it.”
Airy-Aekok looked dejected. “Yeah, probably. I’m pretty stupid.”
“Hey, don’t say that. You just don’t understand it, that’s all.”
“But I thought guys really liked seeing nudie pics and swimsuit pics and stuff!” Airy-Aekok said. “I thought that was the way to get to a guy’s heart. Figure out his proclivities, then figure out the rest of him. But I can’t even do that. And Molshei probably wantsa kill me after what I did.”
“Hey, no biggie. He wants to kill everyone. Including me.”
“Yeah, but if you tried to make your way into his heart, you could probably succeed after, like, a few tries. I just don’t know what I’m doin’. Don’t misunderstand me, though. I don’t have any, like, interest in Molshei.”
“I figured.”
“Can I ask your opinion on one last thing, Sanyaow?”
“Sure.”
“If I, like, did some research on someone to figure out what they like and then tried to befriend them usin’ that, you think it would work? See, my dad’s a cop, so I’ve picked up a few cool skills from him. That’s how I knew how to tie up the boys. If I didn’t tell them I did all that research on them, you think they’d still find it creepy?”
“I dunno. Hey, wait a second. How good are you at research?”
“I can find details that’re out there. Obviously that doesn’t go for those boys’ proclivities. Why?”
“There’s actually a little something I’ve been wanting to know about a certain student.” Lirako’s excitement was building. ‘This might be the break I’ve been looking for. If I keep going after Dosa-Mina myself, he’ll just keep screwing me over. And he doesn’t have a species listed in the school roster. To find out his species, I’d have to do things I don’t want to. But if I could get Llanni to do that for me…’
“If I look into this student though, don’t you think it’d, like, ruin my chances of a friendship with them?”
“Don’t worry about it. The student I want you to look into, you already have bad chances of becoming his friend.”
Airy-Aekok sighed. “Which boy is it? And why’d you want me to do this anyway? Are ya gonna give me tips in return?”
“Well, my dear Llanni, let me explain. In our class, there’s a boy named Dslellular Dosa-Mina. Of course, you know him already.”
“Yeah?”
“Because I teased San-Kyung last year, he can’t stand me. We’ve scuffled a few times. During some of those scuffles, he’s displayed abilities atypical of a Normal.”
“So?”
“I think he’s actually a non-Normal,” she said. “But even though I’m nosy, I’m not good at finding out these sorts of things. I don’t want to stalk him home, and I wouldn’t even begin to know where to look for this sort of information. To top it all off, he registered for Malicerie under no species, which makes me even more suspicious than I already was.”
“So you want me to find out if he’s, like, lying about being a Normal? I can do that, but are you gonna help me with something in return?”
“Remember, Llanni, I’m a popular student. I wouldn’t mind putting in a good word for you. Sure, I think you’re a little crazy, but I’ve seen your true personality both through this talk and through Nemi-Hikla’s birthday party. You do have good aspects, and if you let those shine through, I’m sure people will want to make friends with you.”
“What about boys?”
Lirako scratched her head. “Weeeell, maybe some of them. Anyway, is it a deal?”
“Like, sure, why not? I guess it’s somethin’ to do, at least. And if you’re really willing to put in a good word for me, what’s finding out a species? Hey, what do you plan on doing when you figure it out?”
Lirako blinked. “I hadn’t thought that far. Maybe ask him why he hid it? Who knows. Whatever I do with the information, I want you to find it.”
“Do you think I’ll really make friends by you putting in a good word?”
“I wouldn’t be surprised. And if you’re worried about how it’ll go, I can help you out. Why don’t we become friends?”
“R-really? Oh my gosh, you’re offering to be friends with me?”
“Llanni, I’m friends with a lot of people in Class D. It’s actually not all that big.”
“It is to me!” Airy-Aekok grabbed Lirako’s paws. “Thanks, Sanyaow! I’m totally going to find that information for you now. I’ll give you all the official data you need to know it for sure.”
“Thanks, Llanni,” Lirako said. “I’m looking forward to seeing what you uncover!”
Airy-Aekok let go of Lirako’s paws. “Hey, if, like, he ends up actually being a Normal, are you still gonna put in a good word for me?”
“Sure, why not? I’ll put in a good word for you even if you can’t find what I’m looking for. Just so long as you don’t do something so crazy that I have to reconsider.”
“I won’t!” Airy-Aekok chirped.

—–
“Hey, Dad, I need a little help. Like, I know what you’ve told me about investigation and stuff like that, but could you tell me how to find a specific detail?”
“Sure, honey. What is it?”
“Let’s say someone was hiding something pretty big about them…something that’s usually obvious but not always.”
“Such as? Airy-Aekok, what is this specific thing you’re looking for?”
“Someone’s species? Like what do you do if it seems like someone’s not the species they really said they were? Have you ever had, like, a problem with that before?”
“Well, not me specifically, but I’ve heard of cases down at the station. There are a lot of records that require you to list your species. If you can find those records, finding out the species is simple. That and an observation of whether or not they can use any powers.”
“Gotcha, Dad.”
“And one more thing, Airy-Aekok–” Her father said before she could stand. “Remember, if you see someone whose species doesn’t seem to be quite right, take a look at the species who can easily disguise themselves. Many times throughout history Sirens have used their musical abilities to hide their identity and commit crimes. If you’re looking for the truth of someone’s species, all you need to do is pay close attention. The truth will come out if it needs to.”
Airy-Aekok smiled. “Thanks, Dad. You have the best advice. Now I totally think I can figure this one out.”
“Why do you want to know this, anyway? You know a lot about research. Is something going on at school? You’re not getting into trouble again, are you?”
“No, I’m just fine there, Dad! And it’s no biggie. Just a little thing I was curious about.”

Feel free to say what you will...

