1.456.Twilight or Sunset

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 456
“Twilight or Sunset”

Students were on their way to Malicerie, arriving in small groups. It was still fairly early in the morning, so not many students were in the crowd. But no student arriving noticed La-Iin and Dosa-Mina, who were standing at the side of the school.
“La-Iin, I have something to admit to you.”
“I don’t have time to listen to your nonsense, rival-boy. I’m close to a breakthrough with San-Kyung. Soon enough, his heart will be mine!”
“How ironic! What I wanted to tell you has to do with San-Kyung!”
La-Iin glared. “And what’s that, rival-boy? Is he secretly a girl? Does he fancy guys? I won’t buy any of it, so don’t bother telling me!”
“You’re ridiculous. It’s none of those things. It has to do with San-Kyung and me.
La-Iin backed away. “No. It can’t be!”
“The truth is, La-Iin, I can’t lie to you anymore! I love San-Kyung! I’m completely head-over-heels for him, and I have been ever since we went to Deatrou! I’ve tried holding back so hard. I’ve tried to keep our mouth shut for the sake of our friendship. But after seeing him get licked by that Llanni girl, I can’t take it anymore!”
His smile became sly. “Now you know what sort terms we stand on, La-Iin. And may the better…well, I can’t say man…or Normal…hm….may the better friend win!” Dosa-Mina giggled. “That is, if you can really say that for yourself!”
“I knew it! Don’t think it wasn’t obvious! I could tell by your affection. You’re not exactly what I’d call ‘in the closet’ with your feelings, rival-boy.”
“The affection actually had nothing to do with my being in love with him, but well, if you choose to see it that way, so be it!” He started to dash away, only to stop in place and glance at La-Iin over his shoulder. “But trust me, La-Iin, he likes me way better. Besides, Werewolves are more attractive than Vampires!”
“Says you! And you have Siren in you too. You don’t exactly look like a Pureblood Werewolf.”
“Well, you know, Sirens used to have quite a healthy diet of people thanks to attracting them, so what do you have to say about that?”
Dosa-Mina dashed into the school. La-Iin stared on with wide eyes.
“He’s right. He does have the upper hand! But he’ll see. No man can resist my charms! And absolutely nobody can resist a Vampire! We love people for hundreds of years! And that’s something he can’t beat!”
She dashed into the school after him.

***

San-Kyung arrived later to school than usual, giving a sigh of frustration as he entered the classroom. “Who would’ve thought eating could be so painful? That seals it, I’m sticking to liquids from now on.”
Immediately he noticed a folded piece of paper sitting on his desk. Curious, he opened it up.

Deer San-Kyung:
What turns you on?
An anoniemous wondurur

“What the?” San-Kyung set fire to the message. He glared around the classroom. Everyone seemed to be preoccupied with talking to a friend or studying a notebook. San-Kyung didn’t trust any of them, but he was particularly preoccupied on the younger children.
“San-Kyung.”
He nearly jumped out of his seat.
“Don’t get so scared, San-Kyung.”
“Don’t whisper in my ear, then! What do you want!?”
“Don’t you think getting your blood sucked would be a turn on?” She said, sitting on his desk. “Everyone says it’s so scary and makes you light-headed. But you always struck me as the kind of boy who would like that sort of thing. You know, I have to wonder what gets you going. I always figured it would be something violent.”
“Are you the one who left that disgusting letter?”
La-Iin stared him in the eye. Though her expression was fairly stoic, her tone gave her away.
“Me? What letter? I have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about!”
San-Kyung glared. “You’re disgusting. Leave me alone. I have to focus on school.”
“No, you don’t!” Dosa-Mina said as he nearly slammed himself into his chair. San-Kyung flinched. “Didn’t you know? In these types of realities, school means shit. You can do whatever you want, whenever you want, unless the writer has no inspiration.”
“What are you talking about?”
“Tell me, San-Kyung, which one do you think is cooler? A Vampire or a Werewolf?”
“Why do I care?”
“No particular reason. I’m asking for someone else’s sake.”
“I don’t care.” Noticing Dosa-Mina’s eager expression, he scratched his head and said, “A Vampire-Werewolf. Happy!?”
“Ooh, how edgy. I like it. Bloodsucking, flight and immense strength.”
“What’s wrong with you today?”
“Nothing’s wrong with me today.” Dosa-Mina gave a sly grin. “Say, San-Kyung, between me and La-Iin, you like me better, don’t you?”
“As if that wasn’t obvious.”
“Rival-boy, cut it out!” La-Iin hissed. “Trying to win out over me is one thing, but doing it right in front of me is another!”
“San-Kyung said it best himself. It’s plenty obvious that he likes me better than he likes you.”
“That doesn’t mean you can’t still be annoying.”
Dosa-Mina didn’t seem to hear him. “Anyway, San-Kyung, tell me, what’s something you value in a person?”
“What?”
“Come on, San-Kyung. You can’t tell me you don’t like neck biting.” La-Iin said.
San-Kyung covered his neck. “Cut it out. You know, you’re pretty perverted for a little kid.”
“I just want to make you happy, San-Kyung. And I always did get the impression that carnage would give you a bo–”
“Taking our minds off this subject for a little bit, this is starting to get old. What do you say we call the teachers in and ask them to actually teach us something for once?” Dosa-Mina said.

***

“You know, rival-boy, I will never let you have San-Kyung.”
“You say that as if he’s your property. But I’m not really all that intimidated by what you have to say. Because the truth is, I’m miles ahead of you in terms of progress. Sure, there’s the issue of I don’t think San-Kyung shares my feelings, but he’s far closer to that point than he is with you. Besides, you’re a little kid. He and I are practically the same age! And we made a death pact, and we always hang out together–”
“But he and I are both evil. We share morals. We’d be perfect together. I can see it now, our chaotic wedding day, with all the important people in our lives involved.”
“Would I be included?”
La-Iin hissed. “No.”
“Even if you won out and San-Kyung ended up as head-over-heels for you as I am for him, it doesn’t change the fact that we’re still best friends. There’s absolutely nothing in the world you could do to change that!”
“Nothing in the world, you say?” La-Iin smirked. “I don’t think you should have said that, rival-boy, because that gives me a perfect idea…”

“San-Kyung, Dosa-Mina said your parents are stupid.”
“What?”
“He also said that he thinks you’re better off weak like you are in November. Then he can take advantage of you.”
“…”
“Also he’s in love with you.”
“Tell me, why do you expect me to believe a word you say?”
“San-Kyung, I’m trying to protect you from yourself! Know the right way. Accept my charms!” La-Iin grabbed on to him.
“Let go of me!” He threw La-Iin to the ground. “And cut it out. I’m not a pedophile.”
“What if…” La-Iin’s eyes widened. “What if I told you I was actually an adult, and I just look really really young!?”
“I wouldn’t buy it. You’re half-Vampire, doofus.”
La-Iin grabbed on to San-Kyung’s ribbon. “What can I do to make you love me?”
“Nothing! Stop bothering me!”
“Yeah, La-Iin, quit bothering him,” Dosa-Mina said. “He’s going to pop a blood vessel if you keep agitating him like that.”
“Speaking of agitating, what’s wrong with you today?”
“Nothing? San-Kyung, I can’t help but act happy around you. You’re my best friend!”
“The both of you are acting really strange,” he said, glancing back-and-forth between La-Iin and Dosa-Mina. “Something’s going on, and I want to know what it is.”
“Me and rival-boy are in a contest for your love! The winner gets to have a million babies with you!”
San-Kyung flinched.
“I don’t remember that part of the deal.”
“What the!? Dosa-Mina, you’re not seriously playing along with her, are you?”
“Oh, I’m not playing along. I’m entirely serious here. I used to see this rivalry as a silly and ridiculous thing, but I’m starting to see La-Iin as a genuine threat.”
“How is a little girl a threat to you in any way? You overpower her in all ways!”
“You never know what the future holds,” Dosa-Mina sighed, resting his elbows on San-Kyung’s desk.
“Where did the other students go?”
“Home. It’s after school, in case you didn’t notice. But that’s not the point here. I have to say something to you, and I mean what I’m about to say. I’m completely serious about it!”
“Huh?”
“Molshei San-Kyung, I am in love with you. And I don’t care how you respond. So long as you say I’ll always be a better friend of yours than La-Iin’s, I’m fine.”
La-Iin growled. “He’s not the only one! I love you too, San-Kyung!”
San-Kyung stared at both with at first an expression of wide-eyed shock, then a blank one as he got up from his seat and walked out the classroom. La-Iin and Dosa-Mina followed after him. He stopped just outside the entrance; no students were walking home.
“Why?” He asked.
“Why what? Why do I love you? Because I do,” Dosa-Mina said simply.
“Because you’re second-best to me. And I like that.”
San-Kyung’s eyelid twitched. “Right. And why is this going on?”
“La-Iin declared us rivals. After seeing you getting all close to her, I couldn’t hold back anymore. So I said what was on my mind.”
“Rival-boy is really annoying.”
San-Kyung sighed.
“San-Kyung, the decision is easy. I’m evil and you’re evil. And maybe, just maybe, if I bite you and you get turned on enough, you’ll turn half-Vampire.”
“That doesn’t work, silly,” Dosa-Mina said, giving her a hard pat on the head. “Not even absorbing your powers would change him into a half-Vampire. And that’d only be if he was a Warlock.”
“That’s not fair. Werewolves can turn other people into Werewolves.” La-Iin’s eyes widened. “No!”
“Don’t be ridiculous. I wouldn’t turn San-Kyung into a Werewolf,” Dosa-Mina said. “Unless, of course, he wanted to become one?”
“No!” San-Kyung yelled. “How can you two act so normal about this?”
La-Iin wrinkled her nose. “Acting casual is the only way I can keep myself from rending rival-boy’s flesh.”
“It’s just a front, San-Kyung. And anyway, I’m not exactly worried about losing to a little girl.”
“No man can resist my charms, rival-boy. If I wanted to, I could probably entice you. You should be worried about losing to a little girl.”
“You obviously don’t have a very high opinion of men if you think we’re all tasteless pedophiles,” Dosa-Mina sighed.
“Excuse me!?”
“That’s it, I’m getting out of here!”
“San-Kyung, you haven’t given either of us a response yet!” Dosa-Mina exclaimed.
“With the way you two are acting, even if I was in love with one of you, I would still say no.”
San-Kyung began to stomp off. “He’s getting away!”
Both La-Iin and Dosa-Mina began to follow after him. San-Kyung groaned.
“San-Kyung, surely you want an evil Queen with whom to rule the world with?” La-Iin said. “I’m sure we’d do a great job of it, you and me.”
“We’ve been friends for a long time now. And, well, we’ve trusted each other with a lot of things over the years. We even made a death pact. I’m not saying you have to return my feelings, but could you at least accept them?”
San-Kyung struck both hands and held them out. La-Iin and Dosa-Mina backed away. “There’s your answer. Come back to me when you stop being a little kid, and you stop acting like someone from a shitty romance novel!”
San-Kyung stomped off, hands still lit with flames.
“Well, that was disappointing,” Dosa-Mina said.
“But you know what this means, rival-boy. The rivalry continues. I still have a chance.”
“I think I have more of a chance, given that you’d have to get a little older to meet San-Kyung’s requirements.”
“We’ll see about that!”

***

Late that night, San-Kyung was studying in his bedroom.
‘I wish I had more to do. If I have so little memories that I can store all this information, obviously I haven’t been getting much done.’
“San-Kyuuuung~”
San-Kyung flinched. When he turned around, he noticed two people sitting on his bed.
“I’ve stopped being a little kid,” La-Iin said. She was wearing platform shoes and had stuffed her chest.
“And I’m no longer acting like someone from a shitty romance novel. I’m just going to be Dosa-Mina from now on.”
“So…”
“Could you give us an actual answer this time?”
San-Kyung stared at both of them blankly.
“San-Kyung?” La-Iin asked.
“GET THE HELL OUT OF MY ROOM!”

—–
“La-Iin, is something wrong? You look really sleepy!”
“I had a bad dream last night, let’s just put it that way.”
“San-Kyung, are you alright? You look exhausted.”
“Dosa-Mina, please, just don’t talk to me for a little while.”

Feel free to say what you will...

