5.429.Musical Celebrations

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 429
“Musical Celebrations”

“Ahh, it’s so nice to have a break,” Usl-Thaehey sighed. “No pressure mountin’, no jetlag, none of that stuff…just a nice, relaxin’ time at home.”
She flinched when someone knocked on her door. Checking out the window, she opened the door. Namgung stood there, a smile on his face and a package in his hands.
“Happy Birthday, Miss Gyunerr,” he said.
“Happy…birthday?”
“It’s March fifth, remember? As far as I can remember, that’s your birthday.”
Usl-Thaehey turned around and checked the clock. It had passed midnight. “Oh yeah…I guess it is my birthday, huh? Almost always forget…”
“Well, nobody forgot last year,” Namgung said, coming in and closing the door behind him. He handed the present to Usl-Thaehey, who held tight to it as he took a seat. “Last year was big. So many people were there and you just cut loose. It’s definitely what I’d call a birthday party.”
“Oh yeah…last year…”

***

“Happy Birthday, Usl-Thaehey!” Fans cried out.
“I love you, Usl-Thaehey!” One fan cried out.
“Happy to hear it from you all! Now I’m gonna do something both for me and for all of you! Are you ready? Here’s an exclusive song just for today, one that’s been sitting at the back of my mind for a while–I call it “More than Once a Year”!”

Ahh, once a year…
They claim it’s only once per year…
Only on that day, that is what they say
It’s the day you come closer to the end!

Ahh!
More than once a year
We speed closer to our end
More than once a year
We’re reaching the conclusion of our very own stories

A morbid thought is what they say
But I have realized the truth

Why do we celebrate one of these days?
Why, when always we’re getting closer to this destination?
What’s to celebrate in a close or far-coming death?
Either way, I’ve realized, we’re coming to that point more than once a year

Ahh!
More than once a year
We speed closer to our end
More than once a year
We come cloer to the conclusion of our very own stories

A morbid thought is what they say
But I have realized the truth

And though a morbid thought it might be
I have made my peace
I’ll take all you give me and live out each day
Knowing and accepting that

More than once a year, I speed closer to my death.

The audience seemed to be in a mixture of shock and excitement as some members cheered and others were silent, their eyes wide open.
“D-don’t worry, guys! It’s just my song! I’m actually just thinkin’ about how much fun this party’s gonna be! C’mon, instead ‘a mullin’ on it, let’s get back to partyin’!”
The crowd cheered.
“I think I’m gonna sing my own birthday song,” Usl-Thaehey said. “Think it’d be a good idea, Mr. Namgung?”
“Well, if you want,” Namgung said.
“Hell, I think I’m gonna sing ’til my vocal chords get weak,” she said. “Ooh, my sweet tooth is tinglin’! Let’s get that birthday cake out!”
“Calm down a little, Miss Gyunerr,” Namgung said. “You need to save your energy for later dates…”
“I’m cuttin’ loose today, though,” she said. “C’mon, everyone! I’m ready for that birthday cake!”

***

“That was a big event,” she chuckled. “I could barely even see my parents in the crowd…then I got all hepped up on sugar. I think they musta used four cups of it in that cake…”
“And you really did sing until your vocal chords got weak,” Namgung said. “That really put a crimp in our schedule.”
Usl-Thaehey glared. “Don’t mention that today!”
“Sorry, sorry. Oh, but speaking of that, are you planning on doing the same thing this year? Last year was a lot of fun, even if it was kind of wild. I didn’t hear you saying anything about having plans, so that’s why I’m asking…”
“Hm…” Usl-Thaehey’s expression became blank. “Tell ya the truth, not really.”
“Really?”
“Yeah, it was a lotta fun last year, but after all I’ve been havin’ to do, havin’ a party like that wouldn’t feel much different from travellin’ around like I have been, ‘cept it would be in Vaelyn. I kinda just wanna stay home today and celebrate with someone like you instead of settin’ up a big event…”
Namgung blinked. “Um, I understand. If that’s what you want to do, then let’s do it, I guess…but wouldn’t you rather spend the day with your parents instead of me? Aren’t I just going to remind you of work?”
“I’ve spent lots of free time with you and not been reminded I have work to do,” she said. “And I can still visit my parents and spend time with you, you know. I’m capable of doing both. But yeah, I’d rather just kick back, sing a little, maybe eat some sweets….mm, I think my sweet tooth is active.”
“Open the box then,” Namgung chuckled. Giving him a curious glance, Usl-Thaehey opened the box. Inside she saw a chocolate box.
Without saying anything she scarfed down the box. She glanced at Namgung, chocolate sticking to her face-fur, when she noticed he was giggling.
“Sorry, Miss Gyunerr,” he chuckled. “I just thought it was cute.”
Usl-Thaehey felt her ears burn. “Geez…” She noticed something in the bottom of the box.
“Oh, that’s just a little extra for you to listen to, but I don’t know if you’ll like it,” he said.
“What is it?”
“You have a lot of fans, Usl-Thaehey. Some fans sang cover versions of your songs or sang songs dedicated to or inspired by you. I thought I might compile them and let you listen to them. There’s also a couple of bonus tracks on there. One is that popular Dasdorian song–”
“Ooh, I like that one,” Usl-Thaehey interrupted. “Er, what’s the second one?”
Namgung grinned. “It’s a secret.”
“Secret track, huh? Lookin’ forward to hearin’ it! Oh, speakin’ of, maybe since my fans take the time to do this for me, I should give them a little present for my birthday too.”
“What kind of present?”
“What do you think? When I think about doin’ somethin’ for the fans, I think about songs! …mind helpin’ me come up with one?”
“I’d love to,” Namgung said.

Happy Birthday dear Miss Gyunerr,
Happy Birthday, Miss Gyunerr.
Have a very happy birthday…
Let that happiness continue all year!

“You know, you don’t actually sing all that bad, Mr. Namgung,” Usl-Thaehey said as he set a cake down in front of her.
“You feel bad when you get to listen to someone who does as good as you do,” Mr. Namgung said. “Besides, I’ve never really sung seriously.”
“Well, I still think you’re better than others. I’ve heard some pretty bad singers that get places anyway…”
Usl-Thaehey stared at the cake.
“Go ahead, cut it.”
“I’m gonna. I just remembered that CD you gave me. I listened to most of it, but I didn’t hear the bonus track yet.”
Usl-Thaehey was surprised to see Namgung’s face flush. “Well, you can listen to that anytime…”
“Now I want to hear that song even more,” she said. “I’m gonna turn it on!”
“Oh–! No!” Namgung exclaimed.
Usl-Thaehey pulled out a CD player and started it up on the last track. “F@%king Skyline Angel” had begun to play, but Usl-Thaehey quickly noticed one difference.
Someone familiar was singing it.
“Is this…is this you?” Usl-Thaehey asked. Namgung blinked.
“I didn’t want you to listen to this around me…”
Usl-Thaehey grinned. ‘It isn’t that bad,’ she wanted to say. But for now, she wanted to finish listening to the song.

—–
That day, Usl-Thaehey put up a song on the internet.

All dreams are made of things I could never grasp
No matter how far out I reach my hand, they never come to me
I’m not looking for a dream, I’m looking for something to give me hope
I want just only that, and then I’ll fade away into black

Where am I going, what’s my destination?
Where, ultimately, am I going to end up in life?
I’ll walk so many sidewalks, so many roads, so many crossways
And I’ll still never find that out, I’m not sure just who “myself” might be

I’m looking for a reason
I want to know I exist
To contribute something to this world
I don’t want to disappear without doing anything!

All dreams are made of things I could never grasp
No matter how far out I reach my hand, it just goes straight through it
I’m not looking for much more than a reason to actually exist
For though I’m standing right here, I’m so useless I might as well

Be stuck in a pitch-black darkness
Have no shape or form
I am only barely what you could even call a soul

So that’s the reason why I want to find something in life I can
Use to solidify my existence, and someday I might just find it!

I want to find it!

All dreams are made of things I could never grasp
No matter how far out I reach my hand, it’s always just too far away
But maybe, just for now that is okay, because the journey to that place
Might just give the final destination more of a meaning

I want to reach that point in life where I know I had a reason to live
The day I reach that point, I’ll offer all I have to give
All my passion flying nowhere will be focused in that way
And finally I will be free from all the bindings I’ve set today

All dreams are made of things I could never grasp
No matter how far out I reach my hand, it’s always just too far away
But maybe just for now that’s okay, because the journey to that place
Might just give the final destination more of a meaning

I want to reach that point
I hope I’ll reach that point
All my passion flying nowhere will be focused in that way
And finally I will be free from all the bindings I’ve set
Todaaaaaay!

Todaaaaay!

Feel free to say what you will...

