3.399.La-Iin’s Future–Part 1

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 399
“La-Iin’s Future–Part 1”

“So, you’ve been saying that you have the perfect evil plan a lot lately.”
“It’s not been a lot,” La-Iin said.
“I suppose this time you gave it more thought and decided that just blabbing it to everyone within a three-foot radius was a bad idea?”
“I’m losing my patience with you, Bes-Isa,” La-Iin hissed.
“Why? Just because I’d LIKE TO BE LIKE EUL-BOK AND ACTUALLY AUTONOMOUS!? If anything I’m losing my patience with YOU! I’m constantly stuck to you and now one of my biggest dreams is within reach and you won’t let it come true!”
“Oh, shut up about autonomy!” La-Iin snapped. “Anyway, what did you want about my plans?”
“Care to share?”
La-Iin snorted.
“Oh, come on. If there’s a possibility that I’m going to be stuck with you for the rest of my life, I’d like to know what I’m getting in to.” Before La-Iin could respond, Bes-Isa continued, “Besides, it’s not like I have anyone to talk to about it. I may see Sale-Dessu as my way into autonomy, but I don’t have that high of an opinion of him, and with that little rat Eul-Bok being able to move around now, I’d wouldn’t want to say something anyway. I’m completely trustworthy.”
“I don’t want to tell anyone about this,” she said. “You said I was too obvious with my plans and now you’re trying to goad me on to tell you this one. Well, I’m not dumb. I’m not telling you even if you could keep the secret for the rest of your life. You’ll find out when it happens.”
“If your plans don’t undergo a drastic change again, like they have so many times in the past…”
La-Iin huffed.
“Oh, come on. I’ve been bored lately, even moreso now that–“
“If you hate Eul-Bok so much, why do you keep talking about him?” She said, a hint of snark in her tone.
“If you hate that Dosa-Mina boy so much, why do you ramble on about him when you’re furious?”
“Those aren’t comparable situations,” she said.
“So you say. Oh, come on!”
La-Iin narrowed her eyes. “Will you shut up if I talk about what I think my life will be like after I enact my plans?”
“You always talk about that and it always go the same way. You marry San-Kyung, you have four kids, you trap everyone in cages. The kids have a fun time with you and daddy San-Kyung. Sometimes they rebel against you because Fer-Shi inspires them to be good or Ai-Reia convinces them that you are to be hated and you’re a tyrant. Sometimes it’s a happy ending just for you, and then sometimes everyone dies. Always the same.”
“What if I said this one was different?”
“I wouldn’t believe you.”
“Fine then, I guess you’re not interested.”
“Uuuuugh….I’m not, but I have nothing better to do. Go ahead and tell me. Maybe I’ll get an idea of your plan from all this.”
“No you won’t. And you’re holding off my playtime. I’ve barely scratched the surface of Journey of the Killers. But whatever, if it’ll make you stop being so annoying. I already have to deal with Mama and Choungetsu being annoying every day, Bes-Isa! Don’t become like them.”
“Don’t even compare me to them and we’re good.”
La-Iin relaxed on her bed, laid Bes-Isa in her lap, and began to dwell on her daydreams of her future.

***

“Watch me, Mother!” Called Chung-Ae. Normally quite serious and reserved, today he was smiling wide. After calling out to La-Iin, who was watching him and his siblings from a distance, he scattered seed bombs all over the area. They exploded and caused a few old buildings to fall over.
“My turn, Mama!” Hun-Seuth called. He lit fire to the rubble until the fires were heavy and the area in front of him was covered in flames that reached high enough to lick past the tallest building in front of him.
“Mama, watch this!” Song-Ii said. She closed her eyes as if focusing or trying to think of an idea, then sent a shower of seed bombs down into the area. Some she lit with a flame and they exploded in the air like fireworks.
“Good job,” La-Iin said once the fireworks had calmed. Then, she focused her gaze on Sou-Yu. “Aren’t you going to contribute, too?”
“Um, um…” While Sou-Yu, her youngest child, possessed a great amount of power, his physical weakness made him overall the least powerful of her and San-Kyung’s children. Nevertheless, despite his nervousness, he began to raise up vines past the fire. La-Iin and his siblings began to wonder what he might do as the vines reached past the flames, but before he could do more with them, they went up in flames. La-Iin was impressed, until he came flying to her side. Then, she let out a sigh.
“Well, that went nowhere,” Chung-Ae scoffed. “Maybe we should just go home. I think this area is decimated enough and I don’t even see anyone down there. Besides, it smells like burning oil.”
“Yeah, it smells pretty bad,” Song-Ii said. “Can we go home, Mama?”
La-Iin shot one last glance down at Sou-Yu, who was still cowering by her side. Though she wanted to stay until he had proven himself like his siblings had, seeing how much he was shaking just from the sight of his own vines lighting on fire, she doubted he would be able to do anything impressive. She shook her head.
“Fine.”
She flew ahead of her children. Chung-Ae and Song-Ii followed close after her. Hun-Seuth was close behind, though he was slowed down by having to go back and make sure Sou-Yu actually followed them home.

“We’re home, harling,” La-Iin called. Chung-Ae and Song-Ii landed behind her; when she realized she only heard two of her children land, she turned around.
“Where are Hun-Seuth and Sou-Yu?” She asked, her tone sounding accusatory. It made Song-Ii flinch, but Chung-Ae wasn’t fased.
“I heard them behind us, but they were going slow,” he explained. “I bet Hun-Seuth went back to help him instead of having him fly back himself. I swear, sometimes I think Hun-Seuth has too much sympathy for his own good.”
“Well, Sou-Yu is our brother. Better him than a slave or something of the like, right?” Song-Ii said.
“I worry you do sometimes too, Song-Ii,” Chung-Ae said dryly. Song-Ii gave an indignant huff. “Why?”
“I just do. But you seem to be the first to want to offer to clean the slaves when you know Mother only gives them a rag to clean themselves off with. Sou-Yu has that problem too, but I feel like he has the potential to overcome it. His issue is that his immune system is a piece of crap.”
After he finished, La-Iin noticed Hun-Seuth and Sou-Yu flying towards their house. Sou-Yu was clinging tight to Hun-Seuth as they landed, Chung-Ae and Song-Ii stepping aside to make room for them.
“Sorry we’re so late,” Hun-Seuth said. “Sou-Yu was still scared ’cause of the vine flame incident. And I think he inhaled a little smoke.”
Rather than looking sick as he always did, Sou-Yu wore an expression of disappointment, as if upset with himself. La-Iin hated to admit it, especially after Chung-Ae had made his speech about his sibling’s sympathy levels, but she felt sorry for him.
“Well, this is all over now,” she said. “We can just turn in for the night. In fact, we’ve done so much around the world lately that I think we all can turn in for a few nights. San-Kyung and I have been busy, and I’ve been busy with three of you as well.”
Sou-Yu glanced down at his feet, looking dejected. Hun-Seuth pat him on the head, but it elicited no reaction.
“Where’s the fun in staying in, though? The world may be far past the point of repair, but as long as there’s something others can find good in the world, we should continue decimating it.” Chung-Ae said.
“I know. But I go to mock the slaves in the cages, I hope you know. They barely see anything to keep liking about this world. Even some of the slaves I never thought would are considering suicide over staying like this. Of course,” she chuckled to herself, “there’s no way they can kill themselves.”
“Speaking of kill, I’m thirsty. When’s the last time we all had a good drink of blood?” Song-Ii asked.
“That, I don’t know. But what I do know is, it can easily be rectified.”

So at dinner that night, each person at the table had a tall glass of blood next to their plate–save for San-Kyung, who only had a tall glass of water and no plate–almost each one a different kind of blood. Chung-Ae was drinking Witch blood, while Hun-Seuth and Song-Ii drank Lizardfoot. La-Iin was drinking Normal, and Sou-Yu’s glass contained Werewolf, though he hadn’t drunk any, nor had he touched his food.
“It might be good to spend a few days inside,” San-Kyung said. “I’m working myself far too hard in a month where I can’t use that many powers.”
“So you agree with her, huh?” Chung-Ae sighed. “How disappointing.”
La-Iin smiled at him. “Even if we’re not going to go anywhere anytime soon, I love that fire of yours,” she said. “Your personality, not your power, though the power’s really good too.”
“What about my powers?” Song-Ii asked.
“I see nothing wrong with them. I have nothing wrong with any of your powers. Not even San-Kyung’s, as lame as this weaker month mechanic might be.”
“Don’t remind me,” he scoffed.
“This is all much better than when you were younger, though,” she said. “When you all were little, I had to stay around the house often to take care of you. San-Kyung is a great world ruler, but on his own he can be a little lacking, especially in his weaker months. You should have seen Novembers when you were babies. Those were hell.”
“Ugh.” Chung-Ae shuddered.
“It could have been worst with Sou-Yu because of how fragile he is, but it wasn’t actually all that bad because Chung-Ae was old enough to go with San-Kyung to decimate the world,” she said. “I would have let him go earlier, but we were having a power suppressant outage near the time his powers were almost fully developed.”
“That’s fine. I think I work better and more efficiently with fully developed powers,” Chung-Ae said.
“Hey, how come we were born so late after Chung-Ae?” Hun-Seuth asked.
“Because of a lot of reasons,” La-Iin said before taking a sip of blood. “Chung-Ae was my first child and so he was difficult. Also, I was sick of staying around the house and not being able to decimate the world. I swear, I still think you let Dosa-Mina out of his cage sometimes and met with him instead of working towards the continued destruction of the world.”
San-Kyung didn’t respond, though La-Iin felt she had hit the mark by the look in his eyes. “And we had trouble conceiving as well. It’s San-Kyung’s fault because he’s getting old.”
“Getting old, she says,” San-Kyung scoffed. “This coming from the girl who liked me when I was fourteen.”
“Ah, those were the good days,” La-Iin mused. “If only you had accepted my affections back then. The world might be only us Cahongyuns now if that was the case.”
“What fun would there be in that?” Song-Ii said. La-Iin gave her a quizzical glance, and she followed it up with, “A-after all, there wouldn’t be any slaves to torture then!”
“I suppose you have a point…”
“Uh huh, uh huh!”
“Sometimes I wonder what you children might have thought of the old world,” she said.
“Sounds boring,” Chung-Ae said.
“I bet I would have found something to do,” Hun-Seuth said.
“I would have been fine. There was still evil in the old world, right?” Song-Ii said.
Sou-Yu didn’t respond.
“You’ve been quiet tonight, Sou-Yu. And you haven’t eaten.”
“Sou-Yu always eats really slow,” Chung-Ae said.
“And he’s always quiet,” Song-Ii said.
“I know that. But Sou-Yu, drink some blood.”
He nodded and began to take a slow sip.
“Good boy.”
“Do you ever wonder if he’s intimidated by you, Darseen, and Chung-Ae?” Hun-Seuth asked. “Sometimes I think he is.”
Sou-Yu stared at him, his eyes wide.
“How am I supposed to know? He doesn’t talk to me as much as he used to.”
“You should talk more, Sou-Yu.” Song-Ii said.
“If you don’t want to talk to your siblings or La-Iin, you can always talk to me,” San-Kyung offered.
“You offering to talk? I’m surprised.”
“I talk to Chung-Ae all the time.”
“We formulate some pretty good plans together,” Chung-Ae said proudly.
“I can imagine. Anyway, we should finish dinner.”
“Yeah.”

“I love the world how it is,” Chung-Ae sighed. “So lovely.”
“I love our house! I think it’s the best part of the world. I get this feeling whenever we’re inside. Especially when we’re in the dark room!”
“Uh-oh, Song-Ii’s having an excitement fit again,” Hun-Seuth said playfully.
“Why do you only get that inside of the house instead of outside?” Chung-Ae asked.
“I love our house so much!” She squealed. “Especially the dark room!”
“Yes, yes, we know you love the dark room,” Chung-Ae said. “Now shut up.”
“I–I like the dark room too,” Sou-Yu said. All three siblings turned around. Sou-Yu was already dressed in pajamas and was still wearing a sullen look, though he seemed to be in a better mood than earlier.
“Sou-Yu!” Song-Ii screeched. Chung-Ae and Hun-Seuth called out to try and warn Sou-Yu, but he didn’t react fast enough, and Song-Ii flew into him and hugged him tight. “Hi, Sou-Yu!”
“She’s having an excitement fit,” Hun-Seuth said.
“Did you have a good talk with Darseen?” She asked.
“Um, yes,” he said. “It was fine…”
“Wanna play before we go to bed?” She asked. Sou-Yu coughed.
“Mama said I should probably get to sleep early. She said sometimes when you’re tired you get even weaker and that would be bad for me…”
“Well, you don’t want to get weak,” Chung-Ae said.
“N-no…”
“What’s been wrong, Sou-Yu?” Song-Ii asked. “You always seem sad.”
“I–I’d tell you, but…” He glanced at Chung-Ae. “Our big brother would get mad.”
“Me? I’m really hard to get mad,” Hun-Seuth said.
“He means me. And if he thinks I will, I probably will,” he said.
“You get too angry, Chung-Ae. And you don’t believe in breaks.”
“I’m the best parts of Mother and Father, I suppose,” he said. “Well, whatever infuriating thing you want to say, you can say it. I want to get Mother for something.”
“To tuck you in?” Song-Ii teased. Chung-Ae gaped and gave cut-off protests before flying away at a high speed.
“He can be so transparent sometimes!” Song-Ii said cheerfully. “So, what’s wrong?”
“I….I don’t really know,” he admitted. “I think I’m a pessimist…”
“So?” Hun-Seuth asked.
“And…I don’t really know…I don’t know if…what would make me happy…”
“You can be happy just by doing things you like!”
“That’s the problem…I don’t know what I like,” he said. “I don’t know…all I know is just that, I…I don’t know whether I should be good or evil.”
“We’re kind of part of an evil family, so you don’t really have a choice,” Hun-Seuth said. “Definitely glad you’re telling us rather than Chung-Ae or Mama or Darseen, though. They’d be upset.”
“Mm-hm….” He said quietly, twiddling his thumbs. “Um…I feel like there’s…I don’t know…like there’s one I need to pick…but I don’t know which one.”
“It’s okay, Sou-Yu,” she said. “Me and Hun-Seuth sometimes think that way too. I bet kids in the old world did too.”
“Yeah, sometimes we wonder if our lives would be different if we were good,” he said. “I’ll just stay evil, but I think if we lived in the old world, I might be good.”
“Oh, I’d definitely be good,” Song-Ii said. “I like people too much to make them angry. And some evil people are pretty annoying. Like Chung-Ae. He’s my brother so it’s not so bad but I don’t know if I’d like him so much if he wasn’t.”
“…”
“You’re always welcome to talk about this with me,” Song-Ii offered. “I won’t judge.”
“Me too. The walls are thick in our house and there are so many rooms. You don’t need to worry about it.”
Sou-Yu smiled. “Okay. Thank you.”
“You wanted me for what?” The trio heard La-Iin ask. Her voice was off in the distance. She soon landed with Chung-Ae nearby his siblings.
“I want you to tell these three stories of the old world and when you were little,” Chung-Ae said. “I’ve heard about the fights you had with San-Kyung and Dosa-Mina and Ai-Reia and the like. Tell them about those.”
“Are you sure this isn’t because you want to hear these stories yourself?” La-Iin said.
“No!”
“I’ll tell you all anyway,” she said. “Come on. This will be a long story.”
“Okay!” Song-Ii chirped.

—–
“Did you ever want to have a fifth one, San-Kyung?” La-Iin asked him that night.
“Why?”
“I was just asking.”
“I didn’t want any children. I’m okay with them now, but I didn’t want any.”
“Well, that’s okay. I like having just four and I don’t want to be out of commission again. And anyway, you’re really old. You probably can’t even have any more children.”
“….you realize Animated Pumpkins aren’t all that fertile, right?”
La-Iin giggled. “You’re just saying that because you don’t want to call yourself old~”
San-Kyung sighed.

Feel free to say what you will...

