18.383.Advent of Death

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 383
“Advent of Death”

“Many people around the world are spending today in memorial as another January 18th arrives. Today is the anniversary of famed playwright Makeshire’s death. The Vampire was known for his large repertoire of plays covering a variety of different genres and subjects, and his long lifespan led him to create many works starting at the age of–“
La-Iin left the room before the broadcast finished. She head downstairs to the kitchen, where Mit-Sun was preparing breakfast.
“Today’s the day Makeshire died?” She asked. Mit-Sun glanced at her over her shoulder.
“Yes, it is. You’d think you, knowing how much you like his plays, would know that.”
“I just knew he died before I was born.”
She sat at the table. “What year did he die in, Mama?”
“I want to say 2000 or 2001, but I might be wrong. Maybe a little bit before that. Either way, when he died I didn’t find out right away. I just remember being surprised when I did.”
“Did he die before you met Dami?”
Mit-Sun snorted. “Yes.”
“So he’s been dead for a while now…”
“Yep.”
“What age did he die at, Mama?”
“Are you going to keep asking me questions about this?” Mit-Sun sighed. “Nine-hundred and something. I want to say….nine-hundred and…fifty-five? He lived a long time, but people say he looked fairly young even in old age. I wouldn’t know, though. I’ve never seen any later pictures of Makeshire, and apparently he didn’t like getting his picture taken.”
“So I might have been able to meet him, but he died before he reached maximum Vampire lifespan,” La-Iin grumbled. “There’s always been a lot of things I’ve wanted to ask him. Does anyone know if he was good or evil?”
“No, he never told. So everyone assumed neutral or good.” Mit-Sun had stopped looking at La-Iin by now and had her eyes focused on the food. “Breakfast is almost done.”
“Does Makeshire have any children?”
“No,” Mit-Sun said, evidently a little exasperated by her daughter’s questions. “Unless he had children way back before he was notable, he doesn’t have any. And if that is the case, he would have been keeping it a secret, because I’ve heard he told anyone who asked him that he didn’t.”
“So I can’t meet any of his children either, and ask what they know about their Dami…” La-Iin scoffed.
“Well, there’s nothing you can do about it, so there’s no point in moping,” Mit-Sun said. She began to serve breakfast. “The man died before you were born, La-Iin, and even if he had children, there’s no guarantee they would have known much about what went on in his head. Male Vampires can have children long into old age, so he could’ve easily had a kid even younger than Asul-Zenza when he died. But that’s highly unlikely.”
She placed the breakfast on the table. La-Iin stared at it curiously as Mit-Sun started to eat.
“Does he have any siblings?”
“They say he did, but that they died before he became relevant. So don’t go thinking you can hunt down his siblings.”
“Maybe his siblings had children, though. And maybe those children were in touch with him.”
“It’s possible, but it sounds unlikely coming from someone as desperate as you.”
La-Iin sighed. “Well, what does everyone know as a fact about Makeshire? I just like his plays, Mama. I never really looked into him, and it seems like something goes wrong every time they try to teach us about him at school.”
Mit-Sun gave her a quizzical look. La-Iin took a bite of her breakfast, then wrinkled her nose. “What did you put on top? Poop flakes?”
“Oh, stop being disgusting!” Mit-Sun snapped. “It’s fish flakes.”
La-Iin stared down at the dish, nose still wrinkled.
“Now, if you’ll stop being crude, I’ll tell you what there is to know. He started writing when he was younger, before he moved out of his parents’ house. All his existing works are plays, but he said he initially dabbled in novels before deciding to focus his energy on that. He also said something that, quoted exactly, is a popular line….I don’t remember the exact quote, but I’ll try my best to give you the jist.”
La-Iin rolled her eyes.
“It was something along the lines of, ‘We Vampires live long lives, so finding something to keep us interested the whole time can be difficult. I was lucky enough to be born interested in many things, and when something interests me, I develop the urge to make a play based around it. Therefore I believe I will never be bored so long as the world keeps moving’.”
La-Iin blinked. ‘Maybe I should keep that in mind.’
“They say he wasn’t very social, so the few times people interviewed him in later years is practically all everyone got. He didn’t like getting his picture taken, and preferred to be painted by an artist. They say he also had a hard time speaking with more than one person, and that when he tried to, he’d usually get derailed.”
La-Iin kept her eyes focused on Mit-Sun as she ate more of the breakfast, wrinkling her nose when the taste of the fish flakes hit her tongue.
“He was also a nocturnal Vampire, unlike a certain someone I know.”
“What choice do I have? School’s in the morning.”
“I know, I just think it’s weird,” she said. “Anyway, he would only come to night showings of his plays. He apparently didn’t come at all in his later years. He said it was because he was aging and it was harder to fly out to wherever the performance was being held, but people assumed it was also because the crowds were expecting to see him so they could talk to him after the play.”
“I hope I can still fly when I’m old,” La-Iin said, flapping her wings. ‘But then, who knows. Maybe I’ll never have to worry about it if the world ends before I’m old. It could happen.’
“Do you know where Makeshire came from and what language he spoke, La-Iin?”
“…” La-Iin gave her a blank stare, hoping she would think it meant she knew, but Mit-Sun sighed and shook her head.
“He was Shitosh, La-Iin. And in Shitosh, they speak Enlash,” she said. “So all those play scripts we have in the house are translations.”
La-Iin began to look slightly indignant; since she didn’t say anything afterwards, Mit-Sun wasn’t sure if it was because she had given her the answer, or because the scripts were translations.
Once she finished breakfast, she asked another question. “He was a Pureblood Vampire, right?”
“Yes? He was born in a time anything aside from Purebloods was uncommon.”
“What was his favorite type of blood?”
“Who knows!?”
“Darn, another thing I’ll never know because Makeshire is dead.”
“I don’t think anyone ever saw him drinking blood in the public eye, and even if they did, unless he was drinking from someone directly they wouldn’t know what kind of blood it was,” Mit-Sun said.
“I wonder if he was one of those Vampires that only drank prepared blood,” La-Iin mused. “He sounds like he kept to himself a lot, and also like he stayed around Vampires a lot…”
“Well, it’s not important to know. He probably drank blood. But he never talked about his diet with the people who interviewed him.”
“It doesn’t sound like he really talked about himself at all,” La-Iin said. Upon saying that, Dosa-Mina popped into her mind.
‘Why?’ She shook her head to clear it of him.
“He didn’t. I’ve heard if someone asked him deeply personal questions, he wouldn’t respond. People asked him if he had children, and he said no. But when people asked him if he wanted children, he wouldn’t respond.”
“Do you think that’s because he was shy?” La-Iin asked.
“I wouldn’t call him shy. He didn’t seem it. More like, he’s not social because he spends most of his time writing plays. Nobody knows much about his personal life aside from all the play writing he did. It’s not known if he had a job aside from play writing, if he ever had a lover, what he did on his spare time–save for coming to night showings of his plays, anyway. There are a lot of theories about him.”
“I could’ve gotten him to tell me about them if he was only still alive,” she sighed.
“Why do you want to know so much about him, anyway? You’re such a fangirl sometimes.”
“Because I can’t understand him, that’s why,” La-Iin said. “I’ve read so many of his plays and I still can’t understand him. I want to know if he was good or evil. I want to understand how he kept going and writing plays even when he got really old and the world kept changing. I–”
“Is that it? You want to hear more about Makeshire because you want to know how he survived?”
La-Iin stared up at her with wide eyes. “I just want to know things about him!”
Mit-Sun smiled, though she felt it was inappropriate for the situation, so she forced it down. “Well, then, whether you want to know how he survived or just want to know things about him, never forget what he said: ‘We Vampires live long lives, so finding something to keep us interested the whole time can be difficult. I was lucky enough to be born interested in many things, and when something interests me, I develop the urge to make a stage play about it. Therefore I believe I will never be bored, so long as the world keeps moving’.”

—–
“Hm…”
“What’s on your mind now? Imagining naughty stuff about San-Kyung?”
“No…” La-Iin said. “Just, I was wondering what the world has to offer.”
“Huh?”
‘Maybe I’ll be able to find a way to keep myself entertained. After all, what’s not entertaining about ruling the world? And if it takes a while, the payoff will definitely be worth it.’
She turned over in her bed. ‘Though, sooner is better.’

Feel free to say what you will...

