19.353.Accommodations for a Half-Horse

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 353
“Accommodations for a Half-Horse”

“Guys! Guys! Guys, I have some big news,” Lirako panted as she ran into the classroom.
“I was wondering where you went,” Deki-Tyunri said. “What’s the news? Is something wrong?”
“Nothing’s wrong! Well, maybe it’s sort of wrong, but I’m gonna ask you guys what you think about it.” She sucked in a breath. “I was just wandering around the school, minding my own business, when I find this little pocketbook on the floor. And I know what they say, curiosity can kill a Catori. So remember how all the little kids were talking about finding this list that had students on it before we got all the new students earlier this year?”
“The little kids knew I was coming?” Xhen-Bei asked.
“I dunno. Anyway, in this pocketbook was a whole bunch of names and species, right? And most of the species are just what you’d expect, but then I saw one that said ‘Horseperson/Centaur’.”
Deki-Tyunri paled.
“Your point?” Gen-Reiya asked.
“What if we get a Horseperson classmate?” Lirako said. “The pocketbook didn’t have classes listed, so I don’t know what class this person might go to.”
“Maybe it’s just a faculty member,” Nemi-Hikla suggested.
“That’s still a problem! Horsepeople are really big people. They take up a lot of space and they need special accommodations.”
“Wingyrms do too,” Deki-Tyunri said. “Malicerie made accommodations for Wingyrms…”
“Yeah, but Wingyrms don’t take up much space. Horsepeople do. I barely know what kind of accommodations they need. And there’s not many of them in Vaelyn, so it might be hard to find out what they are.”
“So if a Horseperson transfers in, not only would we need accommodations, but they might be a foreigner like Kokohara?” Gen-Reiya said. “No offense, Kokohara. You speak Vaelyn pretty well.”
Shuera-Kaizima giggled. “Thank you, Kerushao.”
“Maybe.”
“So what kind of accommodations would a Horseperson need?” Xhen-Bei asked.
“Well, I know they have bodies like horses, so they’d need bigger seats. This kinda seat they’d just crush! And they’d need special toilets too, because ours wouldn’t work for them without making a mess…” Lirako folded her ears to her head.
“Don’t forget how much space they’d take up. Depending on the class, the room might need to be expanded,” Dosa-Mina said. Lirako’s ears twitched in surprise. “I can’t believe you’re responding to something I’m talking about, Dslellullar.”
“I don’t like you, but I do like species study,” he said simply. “I’ve read up on Centaurs before. Or Horsepeople, whichever one you like.”
“Anything else you can tell us then?” Lirako said. “It’s not just me who wants to know how many changes this’d make for Class D.”
Dosa-Mina glared. “I pipe in if I want to!”
Lirako noticed San-Kyung give Dosa-Mina a playful nudge. Dosa-Mina giggled in response.
“I want to know something!” Fer-Shi called. She walked over to the students near the front. “Would a Horseperson be able to fit through the door?”
“Probably. Centaurs are big, but they’re not too big. I guess it might be a problem with a particularly tall one…” Dosa-Mina said.
“And how many seats would they take up?”
“Maybe three?” Dosa-Mina said.
“Bet you’re just guessing,” Lirako sneered.
“I’m not a professional,” he said. “And Centaur size does vary.”
“Uh…I know this doesn’t exactly have to do with accommodations, but Horsepeople do wear clothes on their horse part, right?” Xhen-Bei asked.
“Yeah, I know that much,” Lirako said. “They’re big clothes, though.”
“Do you think a Horseperson transferring in would make Class A go crazy?” Deki-Tyunri asked.
“Since when aren’t they crazy?” Gen-Reiya sighed. “I’m pretty sure they’d have some sort of fit regardless of what class the Horseperson was in. And having to make accommodations…soon they’d think they could get accommodations made for anything.”
“Well, if it’s a Horseperson teacher, wouldn’t it be not as bad?” Fer-Shi asked.
Lirako gave a curious hum. “Well, I guess we wouldn’t have to make big changes to the classroom, but there would still be changes. Like to the places the teachers meet up. So that might not be that bad…”
“You’re worrying too much,” Dosa-Mina said. “Centaurs need a few changes made to fit their anatomy, but it’s nothing severe. No species needs anything that would change the entire school.”
“Not even a Lizardfoot-Horseperson-Wingyrm-Groundiser-Snowliv!?” Lirako said.
“….nobody like that even exists yet,” Dosa-Mina said, his tone slightly exasperated.
“But would they need a ton of accommodations is the question?”
“I don’t think so.”
“Oh really?”
“The classroom can’t be too hot. You need what you’d need for Centaurs most likely to be implemented, I….how does…”
“I overloaded Dslellullar~” Lirako hummed. “So not even the great species studier knows how that would work.”
“We were talking about accommodations for Centaurs, not species combinations that haven’t happened yet!” He yelled.
“Um, um…” Fer-Shi glanced around at the classroom before focusing on Dosa-Mina. “What about if it was a really tiny Horseperson? Like a little person Horseperson, or a little kid Horseperson? Would they need many accommodations?”
“Well, they wouldn’t take up too much space in the classroom, so we might not need to change the chair and desk layout too much. The bathroom thing would still be an issue, though…but it wouldn’t be so bad. Like I was trying to say to Sanyaow, the accommodations a Centaur needs don’t actually sound all that bad to me. I think she’s just over-reacting.”
“Are you a Class A student, Dslellullar?” Lirako said. Dosa-Mina glared. “Stop being so petty, Sanyaow. You don’t even know if we’ll get a Centaur student next year.”
“I guess noooot,” she sighed. “But still. It’d be pretty weird. Admit it. At least give me that Horsepeople aren’t that common in Vaelyn.”
“I suppose not, but you’re still over-reacting to the idea.”
“…your species study persona is annoying,” Lirako growled. “I like it better when you’re sexually harassing San-Kyung.”
“Sexually harassing…?” Dosa-Mina gaped. He looked to San-Kyung as if trying to get his defense.
“I wouldn’t call it that either, but I’d definitely call most of it annoying,” he said.
“I know.” He rested his head on his desk. “Say, what would you think of a Centaur student, San-Kyung?”
“I wouldn’t give a shit. I don’t like people.”
“I know,” Dosa-Mina giggled. “Just curious is all. Your opinion is way more interesting than Sanyaow’s…”

—–
“Hey, La-Iin, what would you think of a Horseperson classmate?” Fer-Shi asked.
“Horseperson?”
“Have you heard of a Centaur before?”
“…Centaur?”
“It’s a species that has the bottom of a horse,” she explained.
“What’s the top like?”
“A Normal.”
La-Iin started to mull on the idea. An imagination wormed its way into her mind of riding past destruction on a Centaur, San-Kyung right behind her.
She quickly became lost in that imagination.
“…um, La-Iin? Are you okay?”
“That might be interesting,” she said distractedly.
‘Well, I guess La-Iin does like learning new things about species…’ Fer-Shi hoped that was the case and that La-Iin’s distraction wasn’t caused by something more sinister.

Feel free to say what you will...

