5.339.Marriage Matters

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 339
“Marriage Matters”

Asul-Zenza tapped his hands against the table. Mit-Sun sat across from him, staring at him with an intense glare. He tried to meet her eyes but couldn’t.
Nervousness was keeping him from speaking what was on his mind, but Mit-Sun was starting to look impatient. He tried to find the words, but each time he opened his mouth, he faltered.
This was going nowhere.
“Asul-Zenza, you can’t just call me out here and then not talk to me. I have a precious day off today, and I planned on using it to relax. I hope you know construction is hard work, and I don’t have any powers to make that job easier.”
“Sorry,” he sighed. “I just couldn’t think of the right words…”
“Well?”
“I was thinking about our engagement,” he said.
“What about it? Nothing’s wrong. We haven’t fought lately or anything. I’m fine with things as they are, especially since the year’s going to be ending soon, might as well not make any radical changes…”
“It’s not anything bad about it,” he said. “I was just thinking about what comes after engagement.”
“Why are you thinking that far ahead?” She asked.
“Well, because! We’ve been engaged for a little bit now. I guess I was wondering what…when we would be getting to that next point. When do you think we might be wed?”
“I don’t know,” she admitted, shaking her head. “I can’t see it happening for a while now. When we got engaged we did a lot. Moving in together was a big step to make so soon after another big step. I don’t regret it, but it makes it hard for me to see us getting married anytime soon.”
“I see,” Asul-Zenza said with a sigh. Talking to Mit-Sun had alleviated his nervousness somewhat, but there were still questions weighing on his mind.
“You do still want to get married though, right?”
“Our engagement wasn’t even a year ago yet. I don’t see you that differently from how I did back then. I think I would have turned you down if I didn’t, don’t you think?”
“I suppose…” Asul-Zenza rested his head in his hand. “Speaking of, now that you’ve said that, what kind of future do you imagine for us, Mit-Sun?”
“I’m not thinking as far ahead as you are,” she said. Asul-Zenza gave another sigh. “I guess if I had to make an assumption, I don’t think it’d be all that different from now. We live together now, so I’m getting a pretty good idea of what it’s like to live with you, and I don’t dislike it. So I guess I’m actually hoping not much changes. Although, I’m hoping someday I can work a less exhausting job with a better schedule, heh…I don’t hate the construction work, but it’s draining. I’m just jealous of all those Minomixes who carry things around like they’re no problem…”
She blinked. “Sorry, I got kind of rambly there. Well, since you’re asking, what do you think the future will be like?”
“I think you’re right, that how things are right now is just fine. I’m hoping being married doesn’t just make us fight more. I’ve heard of couples who end up that way sometimes. I’m looking forward to the ceremony whenever it happens. I think that will probably be a great night, one I’ll never forget…my parents and friends might say I’m too young to be engaged, but if I waited, I wouldn’t have ended up with you.”
“Or you would’ve ended up with an older, saggier me,” Mit-Sun sighed. “Anyway…anything else?” She hoped he would change the subject. She knew Asul-Zenza could be sensitive at times–she didn’t want him getting upset by their lifespans as he usually did.
“Well…it might be nice to have children,” he said. “That would be something that happens after we get married…”
“Children?” Mit-Sun huffed. “…maybe someday, but you’d have to handle all the Vampire traits. And I’m not getting pregnant right after getting married. I don’t really care, just…I want to be older first. I won’t be able to do much if I have to stay home and take care of a baby.”
“I could do that,” he said.
“But I might have to quit my job if I got pregnant. And I’d have to recover from giving birth, and I’m the one who’d be able to breastfeed, so it would be more convenient for me to feed the baby….sounds like a lot of work I’m not ready for yet.”
“I suppose.”
“So even if we got married tomorrow, I’d still be telling you not to expect any children until I’m in my thirties.”
“I see. That’s fine with me too. Well, back on the topic of marriage itself…what season can you see us getting married in?”
“I don’t know, Winter? …and I don’t mean this Winter, I hope you know.”
“Oh, I knew,” he said with a grin.
“That you’re talking about this so much today makes me think you want to get married.”
“If I didn’t, would I have proposed?”
“I mean in a few days.” She shook her head. “Just be patient, Asul-Zenza. I’ll be ready eventually. Then we’ll have all the time in the world to plan these things. And hopefully the money too. But I’m making a lot of money now, so I’m sure I can put aside a little for our future wedding. Then it can go any way we want it to. …but just saying, I’m not going to wear a really long dress. I’ll just trip.”
“That’s fine. Thank you for talking with me about it, Mit-Sun.”
“Well obviously I’m the one you should talk to about this most of the time…”
“And you’re sure it will happen someday?”
Mit-Sun held up her right hand, showing off her ring. “This is the promise.”
Asul-Zenza smiled. His nervousness had been alleviated. The only thing he saw as a disadvantage to their talk now was that Mit-Sun’s statement was now absolutely correct.

—–
“Mama, you’re being lazy.”
Mit-Sun snapped out of her thoughts. “No I’m not!”
“You’re not doing anything. You’re just sitting there staring at the table.” She gave her a curious glance. “Are you daydreaming?”
“The woman’s retarded, La-Iin. Leave her to retard in peace.”
Mit-Sun sighed. La-Iin rolled her eyes and walked off.
‘Funny to think how things change,’ she said. Back then she found the conversation amusing. Now, it was a pain just to think back on.

Feel free to say what you will...

