11.315.Circumstance of Emotion

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 315
“Circumstance of Emotion”

“San-Kyung, I want to talk to you after class,” La-Iin said.
“What now?” He sighed. “If it’s pointless talk, I’m leaving.”
“I don’t know if you should go at all,” Dosa-Mina said. “You only just got over a sickness and you’re still pretty weak.”
“I’m better than before,” San-Kyung snapped; as if to prove a point, he stood up and stared down La-Iin, before his legs gave way and he almost crashed to the ground. He supported himself with his desk and slid back into his seat.
“I can go to provide support if you’re feeling that stubborn,” Dosa-Mina said.
“You can’t go. This is a private discussion for me and San-Kyung only. Even San-Kyung will understand why when he comes.”
“Who said I’d go?” He sneered.
“I did. So you better come or I’ll find your house and suck your blood!”
Both San-Kyung and Dosa-Mina rolled their eyes as La-Iin stomped back to her desk. Fer-Shi watched her return, feeling slighty off-put by the sudden situation.
“You can sure make a lot of noise in class when you feel like it, huh?” She said.
“I just wanted to talk to San-Kyung about something, but of course rival-boy wants to tag along because San-Kyung is weak.”
Fer-Shi’s eyes widened. “You calling San-Kyung weak?”
“He is, right now. He can barely even stand on his own.”
“What happened to him? I saw he wasn’t looking good, but did he get sick or something?”
“Go look at a species study book,” La-Iin said.

***

La-Iin sat in the hallway after class under an end table, watching the crowd of students as they left school. She waited under there until she saw the familiar pattern of San-Kyung’s pants, then she leaped at him, grabbing onto his leg.
The shriek San-Kyung gave caught the attention of nearby students.
“What the hell! Get off of me!” He shook his leg violently, but La-Iin held tight, tempted to dig her fangs in for an extra grip.
“I want to talk to you!” She yelled.
“Looks like she’s really determined,” Dosa-Mina said. San-Kyung’s flailing caused him to fall over, and Dosa-Mina promptly caught him. “What do you want me to do about her?”
“Get her off!?”
Dosa-Mina nodded and dragged San-Kyung, La-Iin still attached, into a Weekend classroom. He pulled La-Iin off and she broke free of his grip right away, switching to flying and staring him down.
“I want to talk to San-Kyung,” she said.
“Why?”
“It has nothing to do with you, rival-boy, so get out! And San-Kyung, don’t even bother trying to defend him. I need only you.” She landed on the ground. “For once I’m not trying to do anything you think is gross. I just want you to hear me out.”
“Sounds serious!” Dosa-Mina said playfully. “Are you sure I shouldn’t stay?”
“Go away.” La-Iin said.
“Do you want to hear what she has to say?” Dosa-Mina whispered to San-Kyung.
“I’m curious, but if she switches into her Pureblood form, I could be in trouble in this state,” he said with a sigh. “I’ll hear her out so she stops bothering me, but keep close.”
“Alright.” Dosa-Mina widened his eyes and stared at La-Iin.
“Okay, La-Iin, you win! I’m leaving. Talk to San-Kyung all you like. But don’t give him any affection ’cause that’s my thing. Okay see you!”
Dosa-Mina ran out the classroom, crashing into a student in the crowd. San-Kyung cringed.
“So what do you want?” He asked La-Iin.
“I remember you talked about love before,” she started.
“I already don’t like where this is going.”
“I wanted to talk about that.”
“Why? I told you everything I thought. …and I don’t like doing that, so consider yourself lucky.”
“There were just some questions I had,” she said. “Like you said you were using your love to make you stronger. How come you’re not trying to make friends with everyone then? …not that I’d want you to.”
“Because other people aren’t worth my time,” he said. “I already wish I wasn’t born like this. And I already didn’t intend to make Dosa-Mina my friend. So why–”
“What about me?”
“…I didn’t intend on that at first either,” he said through grit teeth. “I could be perfectly strong without love. …I just choose to use it as an extra boost since I am this way.”
“You’re not strong right now,” La-Iin scoffed.
“I could still set you on fire, you know!” He said as he struck his hand. No flames rose. La-Iin started to giggle.
“I’m out of here.”
“Wait! I still wanted to ask you more!”
San-Kyung glared at her over his shoulder. “Now what?”
“Would you really be able to kill Dosa-Mina if you had to?” La-Iin’s tone was accusatory.
“Yes, I would, but guess what? Unlike you, I bet I won’t have to.” A look of realization crossed San-Kyung’s face.
“You know something, La-Iin.”
“I know what?”
“Know nothing, that’s not what I meant. Anyway…love can be really annoying and make you weak…but it’s also one of the best things to have if you’re evil. At least, so long as you have someone who loves you.” He smiled. “Because what you can do to someone who loves you to that point…by the time they realize it, it’ll be too late.”
“Are you gonna do that to rival-boy?” La-Iin asked. San-Kyung glared. “No. I don’t need to.”
“What is that anyway?”
“If you want to be truly evil, you’ll figure it out yourself. Now if you’ll excuse me–”
“No, I have something else.”
San-Kyung sighed.
“What do you think about romantic love?”
“I’m out of here,” San-Kyung said, putting his hand on the doorknob.
“San-Kyung, it wasn’t like that.”
“Yeah, well, too bad, I’m leaving.”
“Come on, San-Kyung. I’ll knock you over if you don’t answer me.”
San-Kyung was about to twist the doorknob anyway, but then remembered his own weakness. If La-Iin had any follow-through, he could end up on the floor, unable to get up–ultimately, he would be La-Iin’s pawn.
The idea of that sent a shiver up his spine. ‘Damn it, November, I hate you!’
“Fine, but this is the last one, alright!?”
“Okay.”
“Romantic love is completely pointless!” He yelled. “That’s practically guaranteed to make you weak. I don’t have any use for it. And I doubt I ever will. Happy?”
“No. Someday you’ll have a use for romantic love, San-Kyung. I know it.”
San-Kyung was used to La-Iin’s expressionless face by now, but coupled with her words and deadpan tone it only served to weird him out this time. “Bye!” He yelled, slamming open the door. Dosa-Mina was standing there with a smile.
“…how much of that did you hear?”
“Only everything. But never mind about that. I wanted to know if you needed a carry home.”
“No, I’m sure I can walk,” he sighed. He walked across the hallway and to the entrance, then fell to the ground.
“I don’t believe you,” Dosa-Mina said as he picked San-Kyung up. He walked out the school carrying him. San-Kyung wore an indignant expression the whole time, cursing out the month of November in his head.

—–
La-Iin stayed behind in the Weekend classroom with a blank expression on her face.
‘Someday, San-Kyung, someday…’
“There you are!” Fer-Shi exclaimed, peeking her head into the classroom. “We should go home now.”
“…o-kay.” La-Iin walked stiffly to the door.
“La-Iin, are you okay?”

Feel free to say what you will...

