8.312.November Cold

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 312
“November Cold”

Dosa-Mina ran across what felt like all of Bledger to him, worry driving his legs. He had run from his neighborhood and was quickly closing in on San-Kyung’s, a large scarf constantly flapping behind him.
Del-Kyuus and Salsh-Era stood watch over San-Kyung in his bed when they heard the sound of running, and moments later Dosa-Mina burst into the room, finally letting his exhaustion catch up with him as he dropped to the ground and began to pant.
“Ah…” Dosa-Mina found it hard for him to vocalize anything as he stared up at the Molsheis with wide eyes. He waited for them to answer his silent question as he caught his breath.
“Hello, Dosa-Mina,” Del-Kyuus said. Salsh-Era blinked in surprise. “…you came to see San-Kyung?”
“It’s just a cold,” Salsh-Era said. “I’m only worried because those things are more deadly for our species…doesn’t help that he’s already weak.”
Del-Kyuus began to look dejected. Salsh-Era put a hand on her shoulder.
“We’re happy that you came to see him, though,” Salsh-Era continued. “When he wakes up he’ll probably be happy to see you. …but geez, you look exhausted. Just how far did you run here?”
“I…I left as soon as…you told me San-Kyung was really sick.”
“We thought it was worse at first,” Del-Kyuus said. “Though I suppose calling you about that only worried you…”
“I…I thought…what if it really hurts him because he’s so weak…and what if he dies…”
Dosa-Mina began to tear up. Both Salsh-Era and Del-Kyuus started to feel guilty for worrying him.
‘Maybe we shouldn’t have called him at all…’
“Nnh…”
Dosa-Mina stood when he heard San-Kyung’s groan. San-Kyung rolled on his side and opened his eyes, then looked up at Dosa-Mina.
“…”
“San-Kyuuuung…” Dosa-Mina whined. He walked over to his bed and knelt down beside it.
“Geez…don’t get so upset.”
“I was worried…”
“Think I can’t tell?” Dosa-Mina was glad to hear that San-Kyung’s voice had a little energy to it. It reassured some of his fears. “…you’re wearing the scarf?”
“Yeah! It’s getting colder outside, so I figured now was the best time.”
“…I feel pretty cold…”
“Is that a hint?” Dosa-Mina said playfully. He began to wrap part of the scarf around San-Kyung’s neck.
“It wasn’t a hint…”
“Well, it doesn’t matter. Ever since you gave this scarf to me I’ve been wanting to do this. Well, I wanted to do it outside, but whatever. Now I finally can…” He rested his head on San-Kyung’s bed, looking content.
Seeing the two like that, Del-Kyuus and Salsh-Era opted to leave the room for a short while. They trusted that Dosa-Mina would be able to soothe San-Kyung a bit.
“…I heard you ran all the way out here,” he said.
“You heard that? I thought you were asleep. Waiting for me to tell one of my secrets to your parents? Silly San-Kyung, I like your parents, but I don’t trust them that much!”
“You’re being silly today,” he said.
“I’m really relieved, San-Kyung. When I heard you got sick, in November of all months…I had to come over. I was worried running all the way over here. You don’t know how many times I wanted to jump across and I didn’t just in case I mistimed it and got lost!” Dosa-Mina raised his arms as if for emphasis. “…speaking of, how do you feel right now?”
“Like shit,” he said. “Worse than I normally do in November.”
“Worse than when you had wilting flu?”
“No, not that bad…” San-Kyung sighed. “I always feel worthless during this month…”
“Don’t. You’ll make me sad.”
“You don’t understand it though, Dosa-Mina….even in your Normal form your powers aren’t suppressed one bit. Except when you get sick, there’s nothing holding your strength back. I have a whole month that’s basically dedicated to making me have less strength than a newborn baby.”
“I wouldn’t go that far,” Dosa-Mina said.
“Really? Because I can’t even stand on my own. I can barely move. …at least babies can move their arms. Just as I thought I might be able to start walking soon….then this happens.”
“You’ll recover,” he said.
“It’s all too easy for you to say,” San-Kyung said. “You try and see the best outlooks, but I don’t. I try and see the most logical ones…and you barely get sick as it is.”
“You think I don’t have negative thoughts!?” Dosa-Mina yelled. “On my way here I really thought you were going to die! In fact, almost any time I hear something’s happened to you, I worry that you’re going to die.”
“…why?”
“Because…” Memories of his nightmares flashed in his mind. He fished for an excuse. “Because. You’re one of the people I care about most. I don’t want anything bad to happen to you, so when I hear something has I always worry about the worst possible outcome. …I can be pretty negative too, San-Kyung.”
“I guess…” He grunted. “Sorry.”
“Nah, it’s okay. Sorry for yelling at you while you’re sick.”
“I don’t care. I just want to kick this thing. I chalked up feeling off yesterday to normal November crap, but I guess I was wrong…”
“You do get sick a lot in the cold weather. But that makes sense–”
“–because of my species, right?” San-Kyung said. “I’ve heard that one a lot.”
“I’m sure you have.”
Both boys fell silent for a short while. San-Kyung couldn’t think of anything else to say and instead let himself be comforted by the warmth of the scarf. Dosa-Mina watched him.
It was normally San-Kyung’s eyes that were his tel that he was weak–but now that they were closed, Dosa-Mina could see that the sickness had affected him slightly. His skin had turned a sickly color and he seemed malnutritioned.
“I wonder if he’s been getting enough water…”
“Wha?” San-Kyung opened his eyes.
“Oh, San-Kyung? I didn’t mean to wake you up. I was just wondering if you’ve been getting enough water…”
“…I don’t remember if I’ve had anything to drink today,” he admitted.
“That’s not good! I’ll go get you a glass of water right now!” He stood up and was about to break into a run when he was thrown back on the ground by the scarf.
“Should take this off first…” He grumbled to himself.
“…can’t you just stay?”
Dosa-Mina turned back to San-Kyung. “I am thirsty, don’t get me wrong…but I don’t think it’s gonna kill me if I drink later. Mom and Dad were so worried that they just stood over me the whole time…you actually tried to do something else. I want you to stay.”
“Um…alright,” Dosa-Mina said. He returned to kneeling beside the bed, resting his head on San-Kyung’s bed. San-Kyung gave a contented huff.
“…I hope you get better soon, San-Kyung. And don’t worry. I’ve been trying my hardest to figure out how we can get your true form to be permanent. I haven’t been slacking off.”
“Thanks…”
“…try not to get so down on yourself, okay? Even the most evil of people throughout history had problems. I’m sure people like the Rynghs still got sick within the time they were committing all those atrocities. I’m sure there have been other evil people the exact same species as you who’ve had to deal with the crap that happens in November. Maybe they’ve even gotten sick too. You can make the difference between you and them be that you didn’t lose confidence in yourself. I haven’t lost confidence in you, San-Kyung, and you shouldn’t either. Instead, why not choose to see this all as a challenge that’ll make you stronger in the end?”
“Heh…are you sure you aren’t always looking for the brighter side of things?”
“I’m certain!”
“Thanks, Dosa-Mina,” San-Kyung said, smiling. “I mean, I still feel like shit physically…but I guess emotionally, that’s a little bit better now.”
“Happy to help, San-Kyung.”
“That’s why it’s better if you stay here instead of get me any water…”
“It’s fine with me to stay here. Just tell me if you need anything. I’m willing to get it!”
“…I know you are.”
“You know a lot about me.”
“So do you!”
Both boys relaxed after that, neither saying a word more. The calmness of it all lulled them both to sleep.

—–
Dosa-Mina woke before San-Kyung did, and he watched the boy while he slept. The scarf tied around their necks made it hard for him to want to go anywhere.
‘He has problems too, just like me,’ Dosa-Mina thought. ‘He’s willing to accept my help. Maybe I should see if he’d help me…’
He shook his head. ‘Maybe that day will come someday…but not today.’
For now, all he wanted to do was relax with San-Kyung while he slept.

Feel free to say what you will...

