5.248.The Key for a Power

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 248
“The Key for a Power”

“So, Dosa-Mina. You brushed up on the knowledge you need?”
“Yes, I did. So unless I get things jumbled, there’s no room for mistake. There’s only room for research.” He smiled. “One benefit about all of this is how much species studying I’ve been getting to do. Now I’m almost wishing I could be a professional already so I could see more things up close. Reading about them in books is fun, but….well, let’s get down to work, then!”
“Alright…so La-Iin’s power seems to trigger when she feels threatened in some way, right?”
“Mostly…that thing she said about feeling confident when it triggered once makes me wonder. I wish she’d elaborate more on that so I could know for sure. Otherwise, yes, it does seem to activate when she feels threatened.”
“What about what she did the other day? Sucking her own blood and all? It activated after that as well.”
“I was thinking about that, actually. Vampire blood has negative side-effects for Vampires, I heard….exactly what they were fails me right now. Anyway, my assumption is that drinking her own blood and knowing that there could be side-effects triggers the same kind of threatened reaction that causes the transformation.” Dosa-Mina sighed. “Unfortunately, I really doubt what’s causing her to transform could work for you, San-Kyung. You’ve felt threatened plenty of times and nothing’s happened.”
“Damn it…”
“If I’m being honest, I’m a little worried about this. I know you really want to be in your true form all the time, San-Kyung, but La-Iin’s power seems to be temporary. Even if we can find a way for it to work for you, it’s very likely it’ll only be while you feel….well, not threatened, but whatever we could do to trigger the transformation in the first place. I still don’t understand La-Iin’s power completely either, so I don’t know how much help I’ll be…”
“It’s alright, Dosa-Mina. With how desperate I am, I’ll take a temporary transformation over what I have right now.”
“Okay. Well, then, let me see….so far all transformations I know of are the results of biologic necessity, all save the Vampire one, and even that occurs in times of necessity sometimes. Did I ever tell you, sometimes when a Vampire believes they’re being cheated on, that form triggers randomly?”
“Hm…”
“So all of them assist the transformer in some way. Your transformation triggers to accommodate all the extra power acquired when the power surge hits its peak in you. So I’d think, in order to trigger that form outside of that time, we’d either need to cause a power surge–which we really can’t do–or do something so drastic that your body needs to transform in order to save you…neither option is good. We can’t cause a power surge in your body and something drastic…well, I don’t want you to risk your life and I don’t know if that’s the drastic you’d need. If I’m not mistaken, an injured AP who transforms takes those injuries with them, so something drastic would have to be something else.”
“….it seems like this is all set up so that it’s futile for me…” San-Kyung sighed.
Dosa-Mina put a hand on San-Kyung’s shoulder. “Don’t be upset, San-Kyung….this world has endless possibilities. No matter how much I want to learn, I don’t think anyone will ever learn everything there is to know about people. There are just too many species and too many combinations and too many mysteries. But even if I can’t know everything, I can try and learn as much as I can…and trust me, I will try to find a way to let you be in your true form, if not permanently, at least more than what you have.”
“…you’re a good friend, Dosa-Mina, but geez, I’m jealous of you sometimes.”
“What for? I don’t see what I have for you to be jealous about me….”
“You’re half-Siren. You might not be able to do anything about your powers, but you can at least change your form. I’ll admit that the main reason why I love my true form is because of the powers, but…I’m just more comfortable in that form too, you know? I’m in this form almost all the time, so I can’t really say it feels weird to be in it, but it feels so much more…natural in my true form.”
“I understand, sort of,” Dosa-Mina said. He sat next to San-Kyung, taking his hand off his shoulder. “I’m more comfortable like this, as a Normal. Though I’ve got nothing wrong with my species in general.”
“Same here….I’m alright with being an Animated Pumpkin, I’m just not alright with being Aesthetically Normal. I wish I could wake up and be born on something like….October eighteenth. You don’t know the lengths I would go to for that…”
“Would you kill me for it?” Dosa-Mina said playfully.
“Don’t even joke about that. I can’t live in a world without you. You keep me sane.”
Dosa-Mina sighed. “San-Kyung, if you flatter me too much, I’ll end up getting a swelled head and becoming conceited. But thank you. I feel the same. We really compliment each other, you know? Our differences are the good kind of differences, not the ‘I could never get along with you’ kind of differences, and our similarities are things that, thanks to being similar in those regards, we can rely on each other…ahh, all this transforming stuff does wear on me sometimes.”
“…sorry.”
“Don’t apologize. For one, you didn’t do anything wrong, and also it’s weird to hear that coming from you.” He put a hand to his head and to San-Kyung’s head. “Are you okay? You’re not getting wilting flu again, are you? The weather is gonna start getting cooler soon.”
“I’m fine,” he said, taking his hand off his forehead. “Anyway, thank you for helping me, Dosa-Mina. If anyone can figure this out, it’s you.”
“Or a professional species studier.”
“I don’t trust professional species studiers.”
“Would that include me if I ever become one?”
“No….gah, you know what I mean.”
“I do. And I’ll keep trying to help you. There’s got to be some way to do this, and if there is, I will find it.”
“I trust that you will.”
Dosa-Mina nodded. He relaxed into San-Kyung’s bed and his eyelids started to droop. “What could we do to tell your body it needed to transform to survive…? If I can find some way, then maybe I can grant your….”
“I just hope it’s not something too dangerous,” San-Kyung sighed.
The room fell silent. San-Kyung looked to his side. Dosa-Mina had fallen asleep. San-Kyung pulled a blanket over him and stayed there lost in thought until he was too tired to stay awake, and he too fell asleep.

—–
“San-Kyung, could you come with–”
When Del-Kyuus opened the door, she saw San-Kyung and Dosa-Mina, sitting next to each other and fast asleep. Both looked so at peace that she didn’t have the heart to wake them up.
With a quiet giggle, she closed the door.

Feel free to say what you will...

