19.231.Assignment to Hledshess

The La-Iin Series
Chapter 231
“Assignment to Hledshess”

“It’s so peaceful here today.”
“I wonder if they’ve noticed I broke their bomb.”
“They’re probably too stupid to notice.”
La-Iin, San-Kyung, and Dosa-Mina were hiding in a bush nearby the various houses on Hledshess Street. They watched from the bushes, waiting for someone to come out from their house. La-Iin felt the prickles from the bush digging into her, and shifted uncomfortably. In the hour they had been there, nobody had shown up.
After the incident yesterday, San-Kyung had asked if La-Iin wanted to go to Hledshess Street with him and Dosa-Mina. Naturally, she accepted. She had been expecting more to happen once they had gotten there, however; the lack of activity was boring her.
“Doesn’t anything usually happen here?” La-Iin sighed. “You seem to come here a lot, but it never seems too active.”
“This is the place Dosa-Mina and I have had the most luck causing mischief. More usually happens.”
“It was mostly San-Kyung causing that mischief,” Dosa-Mina said. “I tend to be more on the cautious side.”
“Well it seems like nothing’s happening.”
“Activity’s been a little more dead since some of the families moved. Or maybe they’re homeless now. I think it’s the latter. If they did move, then maybe they do have some smarts. Otherwise, they’re all as brain-dead as I thought. We’ve gotten away with quite a bit here and hardly gotten in trouble. That’s another reason why I consider it a prime target.” He gave a yawn. “Though, I guess we should start looking for other areas….I agree too, it’s getting boring here. A bomb isn’t going to change that.”
“What kind of things have you gotten away with here?” La-Iin couldn’t hide the agitation in her tone. She was jealous that San-Kyung had come here with Dosa-Mina so many times. ‘Soon, however, all that will change….’
“Like I said, lots of things,” he said. “We drove a car through here once.”
“You mean you did. I didn’t touch the wheel.”
“Geez, Dosa-Mina, you don’t need to be so snippy.”
“Am I being snippy? I’m sorry.”
“A car?” La-Iin asked. “Where’d you get a car from?”
“San-Kyung found an abandoned one off the side of some road one day. He was curious so he tried it out. He had it for a long time, but it broke eventually.”
“That’s a day I don’t wanna remember…” He sighed. “Oh. Going on what I said about brain dead earlier, the people of Hledshess didn’t really realize I was driving a car through here until it was too late. No houses were destroyed, though…all the ones that are standing now are the ones that were standing the first day we came here.”
“Yeah, I remember that day. We were going on a walk and San-Kyung was complaining about how there was nothing to do, ’cause it was Summer break just like it is now. I tried to tell him there were things we could do, but he wasn’t interested in any of them. While we were on that walk, we stumbled upon this place and started snooping around. San-Kyung’s boredom gave way to mischief, and he noticed just how stupid the reactions of the people who live here are. He found it so hilarious that he kept causing mischief. Then he decided that he wanted to come here again.”
“It used to be a good place to come when bored,” he grumbled. “Not anymore. Damn, 2014’s changing too much for me…”
“Not all those changes are bad ones~” La-Iin said, snuggling up against him. She didn’t notice his groan.
“Yeah, yeah, anyway…we have gotten in trouble before, but only with the people of Hledshess. Our parents know we like to go out together sometimes, but they don’t know we visit Hledshess on some of those outings. I’d rather they don’t know. I mean, they don’t really care that I’m evil, they just….I don’t know.”
“I love that part of you,” Dosa-Mina said. La-Iin glared as he grabbed on to San-Kyung’s arm. “I don’t know, I think it’s sweet that you care about your parents so much.”
“….think however you want,” San-Kyung said. “Anyway, Dosa-Mina’s parents don’t know either. At least I don’t think they know. I’ve been over there before and they’ve never given any signs that they do.”
“They don’t. I would’ve said otherwise earlier if they did.”
“Alright….anyway, here in Hledshess they have some of the most incompetent policemen, but the policemen are part of physically powerful species like Minomix and Werewolf and such. I think I saw a Bearperson here once too….so, even though they’re as incompetent as hell, if they catch up to you, they’ll rip you apart. We’ve been good so far though. They don’t really know who we are so it’s not like they can go and tell the rest of Bledger our identities. At worst, people might start profiling all sorts of Animated Pumpkins and maybe Normals, but that doesn’t really matter to me. And we’ve been able to outrun them courtesy of Dosa-Mina.”
“You haven’t done that bad a job of outrunning them on your own, though,” Dosa-Mina said. “I’m only slightly faster.”
“Yeah, but still, if one of us was more likely to get caught, it would be me. We haven’t seen the policemen in a while, though…”
La-Iin peeked out at Hledshess again. The prickles were still digging into her, but she had gotten used to the pain after sitting there for so long. She was more agitated by the cramps in her wings and in her legs. ‘How am I going to get home in this much pain?’ She didn’t want to be taken home by Dosa-Mina again, so she tried to hide it. Her shifting didn’t seem to clue the two boys into her discomfort.
“So you’ve caused a little mischief. You’ve never hurt anyone, have you?”
“San-Kyung told you he drove a car through here….an accident was almost inevitable,” Dosa-Mina said.
“There have been injuries. Just more mischief than injuries. Causing injuries takes a little longer. I want to try and and avoid those policemen at all costs, even if I can’t hurt anyone in the process.”
“Speaking of avoiding policemen, did you ever tell La-Iin about that?” Dosa-Mina asked.
“Tell her about what?”
“You know….”
“Now I need to know,” La-Iin said, trying to turn to get a better look at the boys. San-Kyung sighed. “Yeah, I think I know what you’re talking about. Why does she need to know?”
“Because maybe it will make her more sympathetic towards you. Also, she’s your….friend.”
San-Kyung only grunted.
“What is it? I demand to know.”
“It’s not important,” San-Kyung said.
“If that’s the case, then can I tell her?” Dosa-Mina asked. San-Kyung gave him an uncertain look, then sighed. “…fine.”
“San-Kyung is scared of the police,” Dosa-Mina said. “I mean deathly afraid. He says he’d rather be shot or ripped to pieces than forced to spend life in jail. He says it’s the sort of thing that would drive him to suicide, being stuck in a place like that. So anytime he knows there’s police nearby, he’s more cautious.”
“It’s not debilitating,” San-Kyung said, speaking quickly. “And it’s less of a fear, more of common sense. If you’re doing evil things, of course you want to avoid the police. You never know what type of people will be part of them. There are all sorts of species in the world and those species have crossed over before. I mean, if you saw a policeman who was a Minomix-Vampire or something like that, you’d be a little spooked too, right!?”
La-Iin gave him a blank stare. She suppressed the giggles that made her chest tight.
“Maybe. It’s alright, San-Kyung. Pretty sure everyone has fears….except for maniacs.”
“It’s not fair,” La-Iin breathed. Suppressing her giggles had made it hard to breathe. San-Kyung and Dosa-Mina blinked at her.
“What isn’t?”
“You two have all these memories here, but I don’t have many with San-Kyung yet.”
“Learn patience,” San-Kyung sighed. “We’ve been…friends…since June. June wasn’t long ago, you know.”
“I am learning patience,” she grumbled.
“There’ll be plenty of time to bond with San-Kyung, La-Iin. Of course, I still want to make memories with him too.”
La-Iin grunted.
“Don’t get jealous. I’ve known him and liked him for longer. That’s all there is to it.” San-Kyung sighed. “Looks like nothing’s going to happen here today….”
“Wanna go and do something else? I have a little vuyong on me. Maybe we could get an ice cream or something.”
“Maybe.”
“Do you two always give up so easily?” La-Iin scoffed. San-Kyung stood up. “We’ve been waiting here for nearly two hours and nothing’s happened. Most windows are boarded up, so we can’t even see if the people who live here are actually home right now. My legs are cramping. Now you know I’m scared of the police, so there’s that…I’m done.”
“Me too,” Dosa-Mina said. “Don’t you hurt, La-Iin?”
“Hmph.”
“Oh, don’t be so grouchy. I’ll get you an ice cream too. Come on.”
San-Kyung and Dosa-Mina walked out the bush. San-Kyung pulled some of the prickles off of him as he walked. La-Iin huffed as she followed them.
“We’ll be able to do something fun soon, right?” She asked. San-Kyung stopped in place. He turned towards the houses and tossed several small seeds which made a large explosion nearby the houses. No sound came from them. He scoffed.
“Sure,” San-Kyung said. He walked ahead. La-Iin ran after him.

—–
“Ice cream is so great during the Summer,” Dosa-Mina sighed.
“I guess,” San-Kyung said.
“You’re so weird, eating it with your fangs. Isn’t that cold?”
“I can withstand it,” La-Iin said.
“If you say so. Hey, San-Kyung, your ice cream’s starting to look a little low. How about having some of mine?”
Before San-Kyung could respond, Dosa-Mina put his ice cream into San-Kyung’s mouth. San-Kyung sputtered briefly after he did.
“Did you like it?”
“That was unnecessary,” San-Kyung said.
“That doesn’t answer my question~”
La-Iin glared. San-Kyung sighed and finished the rest of his ice cream. As soon as he did, she slammed the rest of her ice cream into his face. Beside them, Dosa-Mina broke out in laughter.

Feel free to say what you will...

